Subwoofer

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by sdguy55, Nov 12, 2008.

1. sdguy55

sdguy55 Auditioning

Hello all, i am new to the forum and also new the Home Audio. Although i am new to Home Audio i have been studying/doing Car Audio for awhile now so i know the basics. The setup i have now is a basic out-of-the-box Harmon/Kardon system its silver/gray and i have to say does a pretty good job for me. It is run off an older Denon receiver. I use my setup mostly for music and the occasional movie. My dilemma is that the subwoofer that came with it (10" 100 watts bandpass enclosure) does pretty good but i want more bass. So I have been looking at the higher up model Harmon/Kardon (piano black, 10", 200 watts bandpass enclosure) or a Klipsch sub (also 10" and around 200 watts i believe) So my budget is around 200 bucks and would like to know what you guys would recommend. Has to be self-powered

2. Robert_J

Robert_J Lead Actor

Robert
    With a $200 budget, you will be limited but here are my suggestions:
    Parts Express buyout $199 w/ free shipping, Dr. Hsu designed - link
    Dayton, designed by Dr. Hsu - link
    Cadence, it stretches your budget but you do get to move up to a 12" - link

All of these are very good, bargain subs. The only way to get a better bang for the buck is to build it yourself.

-Robert

3. sdguy55

sdguy55 Auditioning

Well i am in college and there is a couple of buddys of mine in building trades so if i wanted to i could have them build an enclosure for me no problem.
    If i was doing it DIY what would suggest? How would i power it?

4. Robert_J

Robert_J Lead Actor

Robert
    For DIY:
    Driver: Dayton DVC 12" - It's a solid driver that has been around for a few years. In fact, I'm listening to one right now.
    Amp: Dayton 240W amp - Again, proven performer.