STR-KG700

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by jdawg2008, Dec 7, 2012.

  1. jdawg2008

    jdawg2008 Auditioning

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am thinking about buying this receiver from someone on craigslist...I am going to attempt to create a very inexpensive home theater by mixing and matching speakers, but I need a receiver to start with. Thinking about trying to get it for $50
    There is not a lot of info on the web about this...apparently the speakers that came with it are 6 ohms. Will this amp be able to drive 8 ohm speakers?
    Any other info about this receiver that anyone can give me?
     
  2. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    If you can live with no video switching(it doesn't have any) and can make do with 1 toslink and 1 digital coax...sure.
    I wouldn't give more than $25.
    You can buy a real AVR for $75. You can even get HDMI for a little over $100...
    These are miles better...
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Onkyo-TX-SR605-Receiver-/321033737490?pt=US_DVRs_Hard_Drive_Recorders&hash=item4abf1a1512
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Denon-AVR-391-5-1-Channel-110-Watt-Receiver-/281034549273?pt=Receivers_Tuners&hash=item416ef6e819 (no remote)
    http://www.ebay.com/itm/Denon-AVR-391-5-1-Channel-AV-Home-Theater-Receiver-HDMI-Black-/281033483960?pt=Receivers_Tuners&hash=item416ee6a6b8 (does have the remote)
     
  3. jdawg2008

    jdawg2008 Auditioning

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    I dont think I NEED video switching at this point. My devices all connect into my TV, and I send the digital output to my receiver with toslink. So as long as I have that I will be ok...but I will check out the other links you provided.
     
  4. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    You can do that if you don't care about Dolby Digital and DTS. As your TV only outputs PCM 2.0.
     
  5. jdawg2008

    jdawg2008 Auditioning

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Why wouldn't it maintain the digital signal throughout? Currently I have Blu ray, xbox, and cable box all going HDMI into my tv, which then sends the signal to my receiver using the digital toslink cable. It is 5.1, so why wouldn't that still work with another receiver?
     
  6. jdawg2008

    jdawg2008 Auditioning

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Let me clarify. In my current setup, the television IS sending a 5.1 dolby digital signal to my receiver via its toslink output. I see no reason why it couldn't do this to another receiver.
     
  7. jdawg2008

    jdawg2008 Auditioning

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Crap, you may be right. I was not aware of this. Why in the world does it not output the full digital signal...?
     
  8. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Cause TVs aren't meant to be the AV hub. And 99% of TVs only output 5.1 from their own tuner. Even says so in every single manual you want to download.
    There are a few, and I do mean a few, that pass 5.1 from incoming HDMI.
     
  9. jdawg2008

    jdawg2008 Auditioning

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    so my best option and probably only option is to get a receiver with HDMI pass through...the cheapest of which I can find seems to be this one
    http://www.amazon.com/Yamaha-RX-V371BL-5-1-Channel-V-Receiver/dp/B004QQXDVC/ref=sr_1_1?s=aht&ie=UTF8&qid=1354942580&sr=1-1
    Anyone have any other suggestions?
     

Share This Page