What's new

Still 5.1? (1 Viewer)

emperor76

Grip
Real Name
jonathan
Hi all, I have a Samsung blu ray 5.1 surround system and I have just noticed that if I connect the optical cable from the digital out on the t.v to the optical input on the surround system and set the sound on my computer to HDMI everything connected to the t.v via HDMI comes through the surround system on the digital in setting, is it still possible for me to get full 5.1 from my pc and sky box this way?

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam
Nope.
The only thing 5.1 from 99.5% of all HDMI equipped TV's is the OTA tuner itself. The APPs(since we don't know which TV you got) are all in 2.0 as well.
It is in your owners manual.

emperor76

Grip
Real Name
jonathan
Thanks for the reply, sorry it's a Samsung 32" LCD le32a436, as you can probably tell I am a beginner in the department and just working things out as I go along, I had it set up with the optical from the sky box and the pc through auxiliary usually and occasionally swapped the optical over when I wanted better sound on the pc, looks like I will be reverting to this annoying set up again. I have been toying with the idea of using an optical switch but can't shake the idea that it would detract from the sound quality

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam
OR...
http://www.amazon.com/Nyrius-SW100-Digital-Selector-Compatible/dp/B000812QC6/ref=sr_1_2?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1344528990&sr=1-2&keywords=toslink+switch

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam
Or...
http://www.amazon.com/Nyrius-SW100-Digital-Selector-Compatible/dp/B000812QC6/ref=sr_1_2?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1344528990&sr=1-2&keywords=toslink+switch

emperor76

Grip
Real Name
jonathan