Stereo Receiver with Sub Capabilities

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Matthew Will, Apr 28, 2003.

1. Matthew Will

Matthew Will Stunt Coordinator

Hello,
    Blah blah blah im building an electronic drumset and I will need to play it through a stereo of some sort. Id like to use the Adire audio HE10.1 monitor kits and also hook up a 15" tempest to the system. Do I need to buy a surround receiver so it works with subs or are there stereo receivers that do have sub capabilities? Matt

2. Matthew Will

Oh and just so you know, I am a newbie so right now I haven't considered using an amp or preamp because for one, I couldnt tell you the difference between the two. This is probably a better option for me for this but how would that work? Im just trying to throw some things out there so I can have as many options to power these speakers as possible. Matt

3. Martice

Martice Screenwriter

Hi Matthew, you won't need a surround receiver because the sub output on the HT receivers are for LFE (Low frequency effects) which is information encoded on DVD discs. LFE is not the same as the bass content that you'll be using your drumset for. That said, all you need to do is run your speaker cables OUT from your speakers to the "high level filter inputs" (they look like speaker terminals on the back of your Plate Amp)and eventually out from your sub to the back of your stereo receiver. This will allow your speakers signal to pass through the subs crossover so that you can create a seamless blend between the speakers and the sub. Depending on your speaker and how low it is tuned will determine where you should START looking for a good crossover point. Let your ears be the final judge on this one.