Stand-by Mode on Sony FD Trinitron WEGA KV-30HS510

Discussion in 'Displays' started by jimdc58, Jul 30, 2013.

Tags:
  1. jimdc58

    jimdc58 Agent

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Recently, I have had an issue where, when I go to turn on my Sony FD Trinitron WEGA KV-30HS510 via the remote, it acts like it going to turn on, but then goes into "stand-by" mode. If I hit the power button on the remote one more time, it then comes on.

    I have tried:

    1. Unplugging the set, leaving is set a few minutes, and plugging it back in.

    2. Using the reset button on the remote, along with the power button on the set, to reset the TV to factory settings.

    I'm not sure just what is happening. It plays fine once it is on.

    I do know that one night recently, I hit a wrong button on the remote while using it in the dark. However, I don't see anything on the remote that indicates there is a "stand-by" mode that can be set.

    Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
     
  2. jimdc58

    jimdc58 Agent

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Did I place this question in the wrong category?
     
  3. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    899
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Maybe there is no answer. My best guess is one of the caps on the power supply is bulged and about to pop.

    If you are good with a screwdriver you can unplug the TV for about 2-3 days, wait for the juice to die out of it...and remove the back and see if any of the caps are bulging(you can internet search "bulging capacitor" and probably even include Sony Trinitron and see pics of what one looks like).
     
  4. jimdc58

    jimdc58 Agent

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    schan1269....thanks for the answer. I'm sorry I am late in responding, as I had somewhat given up on checking the forum for a reply.

    Is it okay to just keep playing it, since the only issue is that I have to hit the "power" button twice? (And, by the way, if the television has been on in the last hour or so, and I try turning it on again, it comes right on!)
     
  5. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    899
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    That does sound like bulging caps. When caps fail, they lose initial charge.
     
  6. jimdc58

    jimdc58 Agent

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is there any danger in just playing it until it fails? I don't plan on putting any more money into this TV.
     
  7. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    899
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Unless you fix the power supply....one day it just won't turn on.
     
  8. jimdc58

    jimdc58 Agent

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks schan1269......you've been very helpful! Take care.
     
  9. Gregg Loewen

    Gregg Loewen Video Standards Instructor, THX Ltd.
    Insider

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 1999
    Messages:
    6,373
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    New England
    Real Name:
    Gregg Loewen
    I would try replacing the remote.
     

Share This Page