Spitting Satellite Signals???

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Scott_Sylke, Nov 11, 2002.

  1. Scott_Sylke

    Scott_Sylke Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2000
    Messages:
    84
    Likes Received:
    0
    I need some advise. I have a triple LNB satellite. It has 4 coax outputs. I only have 2 of these cables going into the home. One going upsaits, the other downstairs.

    I just added a 3rd receiver today. My problem is that I can't put anymore holes in the house. So, I need to split the downstairs coax into 2 cables to go to two seperate sat receivers (one of them being an HDTV receiver).

    I discovered (the hard way) that you can't simply use a splitter because it divides the transponder signals.

    My question is, is it possible to get a multiswitch or something that will divide this one coax into two and get the same signal that the one was getting before being split(with all 3 sat's)???

    Your input will be greatly appreciated!!!!!!
     
  2. Reginald Trent

    Reginald Trent Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2000
    Messages:
    1,313
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not sure about the answer but if you don't get it answered here try www.dbsforums.com
     
  3. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,288
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
    You can split sat signals if you "stack" them. That combines the left and right hand polarities on to the same coax at the same time. A stacker will run about $250+. You have to have a de-stacker at each receiver. Those are about $75 each. They will NOT work with a multi-sat dish like yours, they only work with the 18" dishes.

    It's never impossible to run more coax, just time consuming or really expensive.

    -Robert
     

Share This Page