What's new

Speaker placement question (1 Viewer)

HienD

Stunt Coordinator
I have a 5.1 speaker setup. Just wondering which is the best way to setup my surround speaker. They are 3 way bookshelfs that are the same as the fronts. I don't have enough room to put the rear speaker beside my couch pointing towards each other. What the next best thing.

1. Have them placed slightly behind a behind the couch and pointed sideways towards each other.

2. Have them placed slightly behind the couch and pointed toward the center of where me heads gonna be.

3. Have them placed a few feet or more, behind me, and pointed towards the front speakers.

Which one of these will give more accurate setup. I'm new to this HT stuff and can't really tell which sounds more correct. thanks

Lee Carbray

Second Unit
1 and 3 will probably give you a more diffuse environment and 2 would be more directional. It all depends on you preference. The best advice is to try it out with all three as pick the one that sounds best to YOU.

Neil Joseph

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Neil Joseph
3 is most likely the best choice. I like to have many feet of breathing space between the surround speakers and the listening position, for the same reasons that you do not place your front speakers 2ft in front of the listening position. Speakers need space to "breathe". Also, I much prefer a rear location over a side location for direct radiating (monopole) surround speakers because the rear soundstage more closely matches the on-screen action than a side placed setup does.

Glenn_N

Auditioning