What's new

speaker placement and wiring question (1 Viewer)

brankulo

Agent
Real Name
brankulo
hi, i came across this thread. i am new to all this home theater systems and need little help. i recently built new house an want to purchase surround system. i like onkyo system suggestion in this thread, but would like to go for HT-S9100THX instead.
1) my living room is prewired for 5.1 system but this is 7.1 system. are the speakers wireless? if no how do i solve this so there are no cables visible on the floor or walls? i am not even sure if the satelite speaker outlets are in right locations. i can post my room layout here if it will help. thanks

Jason Charlton

Ambassador
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Jason Charlton
Well, the speaker placement is pretty good, and you're right - you definitely have the room geometry to support a 7.1 system.

Do you have attic access above? I can see that under carpet/behind baseboards won't work in this case.

That's an interesting ceiling effect, and potentially helpful. You could run speaker wire outside the walls, but tucked up in the corner where it won't be seen unless you're really looking for it (you could also paint the speaker wire so it really blends in).

You'd still need to drop the speaker wire to the speakers on the back wall, but that could be made to look really clean by just punching a small hole up where the wall meets the ceiling for the speaker wire to go into the wall, then drop it straight down the 18 inches or so where it can come back out of the wall directly to the speaker.

You would do the same thing for the opposite wall (to conceal the speaker wire running from the receiver to the ceiling), but obviously it would be a longer pull behind the drywall. You'd probably need a cable fish tape to make the pulls easier - something like this.

Those would be pretty long runs, since you'd be going around the perimeter of the room, but good speaker wire is cheap. Here are some good options from Monoprice.com
ir