What's new

Sony VPL-VW100 (1 Viewer)

MannyE

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Manny Elgarresta
Seems like this might be the next "have to have it" FP.

I figure street prices should come down from the 10K retail asking price after a while. Anyone elee think this is a breakthough product?

I ask because I am looking at this (at long last) to be what I get to finally update my display. I've been using a Toshiba TheaterWide RP (56inches) since 1994. This TV has been with me for a long time, and I feel I should reward my resistance of upgrade-itis with the VPL-VW100.

By the same token, if anyone thinnks I can do better at this 8-9K price point, I would be very interested in hearing your opinion!

THanks!

John S

Senior HTF Member
yeah, I don't even look at those projectors. So no comment, except at that price it should be freaking amazing. I am impressed with the $2k to $3K projectors, I cna only imagine how good something like this is.

MannyE

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Manny Elgarresta
I've always had problems with FP pictures...with the exeption of the very high end stuff I couldn't even begin to dream about (the REALLY expensive stuff..25K and the like).

I don't knw a whole lot about the costs for the rest of the setup...screen prices seem difficult to pin down. So I would have to make sure I don't buy this great pj then have no money to get a good screen.

What I don't know is if like with audio you have to get good (mo' money) speakers to go with your Pass Aleph amp to get the best out of the amp...or if you can skip the mega cash on the screen, like you would be able to with the speaker cables between your Pass and your mega-speakers;)

RobertSiegel

Reviewer