SONY STR DE985 - UNLOCK problem. Not getting sound.

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Bernie Lomax, Feb 10, 2003.

  1. Bernie Lomax

    Bernie Lomax Agent

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    I saw this thread as well STR DE 575 thread

    Is this a common problem? Should I be worried? I'll try unplugging my unit tonight to reset it, otherwise what is going on here?

    I watched a DVD Sat night, played CDs yesterday in the morning, turned it off, tried to watch TV last night and only can get sound from the SAT using "2 ch analog". The DVD and CD will show UNLOCK on the reciever in some situations.

    I'm so annoyed because this thing is only a month old. [​IMG]
     
  2. Bernie Lomax

    Bernie Lomax Agent

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Unplugged it. Didn't help. Same situation. Really annoyed. [​IMG]
     
  3. AaronBatiuk

    AaronBatiuk Second Unit

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2002
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try doing a reset.
    If you have spent any length of time calibrating speaker levels, setting the EQ, etc., then write down all those settings. Now do the reset. The manual will tell you how, but for most Sony receivers, you do this: Turn off the receiver. Turn it on, but do not release the power button. Keep it pressed for at least 5 seconds... eventually the receiver will say "reset?" or something to that effect in it's display. Release the power button and press the enter button on the front panel to reset the receiver.
    (Check your manual!)
     
  4. Bernie Lomax

    Bernie Lomax Agent

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've done that twice. I think the unit is bad.
     
  5. Bernie Lomax

    Bernie Lomax Agent

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    The thing that drives me insane is that he UNLOCK thing is nowhere to be found in the manual. [​IMG]
     
  6. Bernie Lomax

    Bernie Lomax Agent

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, this is still going on. With a new twist. It happened yesterday, nothing worked. Tuner, Sat, DVD, CD, nothing. Not even a test tone. So I have a DVD playing and I disconnect the Optical connection for the CD player, and the DVD sound comes thru beautifully.

    How can one connection be effecting the whole unit? I'm so confused.

    Do I have a bad unit? Do I have crappy cables? I am using the acoustic research cables for optical, s-video, and coaxial. They seem to be fine?

    [​IMG]
     
  7. AaronBatiuk

    AaronBatiuk Second Unit

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2002
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  8. Bernie Lomax

    Bernie Lomax Agent

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the response.

    Yesterday it worked fine. If it happens again, I'm going to have to take it to a place under Warranty. Already called Sony to get the info.
     
  9. Jason GT

    Jason GT Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2002
    Messages:
    452
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just a thought, and I don't know if this would even screw up normal operations per se, but are your DVD and CD players sharing the same input?

    For instance, are you using coax on your DVD player and optical for your CD player, and say... plugging them into the same input (ie, using the optical AND digital ins on a particular input channel)? I only ask this because unplugging the CD player seemed to solve your problems.
     
  10. Bernie Lomax

    Bernie Lomax Agent

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a coax input for my DVD player, and an optical for my CD player. 2 seperate devices, separate inputs specific to CD and DVD. So I guess the answer to your question is no. It's so weird that when it says unlock and I pull out the optical and plug it back in everything is fine. I wonder if a different cable would solve the problem?
     
  11. Bernie Lomax

    Bernie Lomax Agent

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    Topping this old thread with a resolution. Took the unit to the Sony warranty place. They had to re-solder both the analog and digital switching boards. Got it back on Wednesday and it works like a charm.

    I'm considering a letter to Sony expressing my dissatisfaction with a brand new unit that needed to be re-soldered , but where is that going to get me really? Nowhere I guess since it only cost me aggravation and not any money.
     

Share This Page