What's new

SONY STR-DE897 with 2 wireless speakers (1 Viewer)

bodosko

Grip
Real Name
Eduardo
Hi, I'm a beginner here on the forum and I don't know if I'm posting in the right section. I have a SONY STR-DE897 with 7.1 speakers and there are 2 speakers output not being used (FRONT B). My living room is right besides where I want to put some wireless speakers, 17yards straight away from the receiver, without walls on the way, just a glass door. Is it possible to setup this with my receiver? Or I need to buy a new one? Or perhaps some sort of a wireless adapter(I don't know if this exist)? Thanks.

Jason Charlton

Ambassador
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Jason Charlton
Originally Posted by bodosko
I have a SONY STR-DE897 with 7.1 speakers and there are 2 speakers output not being used (FRONT B).
The "B" speakers can't be used this way - any wireless system will need to connect to line-level outputs (RCA jacks, known as pre-outs).
According to the manual, you have a second zone available to you, but that will only work with sources connected to analog inputs. As long as you are OK with the source limitations, then you can connect a wireless system to these outputs and should be set.
That being said, 17 meters (even if line of sight and only through glass) may still be a tall order for most wireless systems. They're hard to find because, frankly, they don't work all that well. They are subject to interference from any other wireless devices you may have in the home, and have been known to experience "dropouts" that can take upwards of several seconds or more for the system to "re-establish" a connection.
Any system you choose, don't throw away the receipt right away. If it works, great, but don't get your hopes up too high.

bodosko

Grip
Real Name
Eduardo