What's new

Sony HT-DDW5500 or HT-M5 ? (1 Viewer)

soamz

Auditioning
Real Name
Ok first off, let me tell you that, I have no technical knowledge about audio stuff or acoustics. I only go by quality of sound and performance. :)
So, here is the deal. I have an existing Home Theater at home, Sony DAV-DZ340K .
DAV-DZ340K : DVD Home Theatre System : Home Theatre System : Sony India
But Im looking for some High quality and better performance system, who can handle big halls, rooms, etc.
We are looking to use it for Sangeet during the marriages, Office parties, Hotel parties, etc. So, especially, need something big boss, which can output something super huge.
Budget is 50,000 INR.
So, I was looking at Sony Component Systems, though I have no idea, whats the difference between normal Home Theater and Component System. Sorry. :angry:
But since it looks huge, I feel, its what I need.
I took a demo of DDW5500 last week and it was superb. Its 6.2 channel output . But its an older version , so I think, I would miss some features of this new world.
The new HT-M5 is 5.2 channel, but shows a lot of new features. But I dont understand any of those.
Also, I have no idea, whats the difference between 5.2 and 6.2 channel. :eek:
You can see the comparison here,
Product Comparison : Home Theatre Component System : Sony India
So, what would you suggest to go for ?
Which is a better choice ?

Al.Anderson

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Al
The difference between 6.2 and 5.2 is that a 5 speaker system has 3 fronts and two side speakers,and a 6 speaker system adds a rear center. 6 speaker systems have gone out of favor and you now mostly see 7 speaker (2 rears). But 6 speaker systems are not bad.