What's new

Some problems... (1 Viewer)

Tim Beebe

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Tim
I'm running into some problems hooking up my surround sound system.

1. I CAN get the radio to work. But NOTHING on the television seems to be working. I've never done this before so I'm probably missing something obvious. Everything is plugged in as far as I can tell, and I know the receiver and the speakers are working, because the radio sounds great. Tell me what you need to know to find out the problem...

My receiver is a Yamaha 5590 and I have a set of PSB speakers (2 pairs of 4Ts, 9c and Sub6i). My television, if it matters, is a Phillips.

2. The Subwoofer. The receiver has only one plug for it. The best way to describe what I'm trying to say is you know how audio is white/yellow? The receiver only has a black one. The Subwoofer seems to have a left/right setup on the back (and I believe it IS yellow/white). I plugged it in and it DOES work, but won't I only be getting one sided base? I.E. I'll get completely left sided explosions or something?

UPDATE!!! UPDATE!!! UPDATE!!! UPDATE!!! UPDATE!!!

Ok. So I got it routed through the VCR ok... BUT... my television DOES have monitor out jacks and it doesn't seem to be working through that.

Let me make sure I'm looking at things right...

This is how the television is set up...

Monitor Out / Component Hookup (AV1) / S-Video Hookup (AV2)

And on the side is the front Hookup (AV3, or FRONT)

There are only three AUX stations. AV1, AV2, and FRONT.

So... I'm assuming the thing that says MONITOR OUT would be the correct place to plug in the audio cables from the receiver... right? Now, if it makes a difference, I don't have a video cable to hookup the monitor out to the receiver. Could this matter? Would it make the sound not work? How everything is now, things only work THROUGH the VCR, meaning I have to plug the XBOX, DVD, etc. through the VCR... making the picture kind of crappy in the process.