What's new

Small Room, will Projector work?? (5 Viewers)

John-L

Auditioning
I'm a novice to this forum. I just bought a new house with a small den. The size of the room is 10 ft, by 10 ft. I'd like to put a couch on the back wall and mount a projector above it(on the wall or ceiling). Is this room to small for a projector???

thanks,

Dean_S

Second Unit
No the room is fine just be sure to use a screen size that's appropriate for the seating distance (about 8-9 feet). A general rule of thumb for determining this is that you do not want to be any closer to the the screen then about 2.5 times the image height for HD resolution (farther away for SD, ED) so for 8 feet using a 16:9 picture then you want about 38". A 120" 16:9 screen has a height of about 72", so it sounds like a screen in the 60-70" range will be perfect for you, which makes an FP overkill for you.

Jim Mcc

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Jim
John, the room is not too small, but your 9' seating distance limits the size of your screen. If you buy a 720p projector, you can sit closer to screen than with a 480p projector. With a 720p you can sit 1.5X screen width back from screen(9' back = 72" wide screen). With 480p you need to sit back 2X screen width(54" wide screen). 720p projectors such as the Panasonic 500, Sanyo Z2 are about $1500.

Jack Gilvey

Senior HTF Member
A projector is a much more feasible option for a big picture in a small room than anything else, takes up almost no room, and no floor space at all. My 12'x13'room is set up like you plan, an InFocus 4805 mounted above my couch on the wall and a beautiful 80" diagonal picure across the room.

Pat Frank

Stunt Coordinator
I feel obliged to point out that 12'x13' is completely different from 10'x10'. It doesn't sound like much of a difference, but grab a measuring tape and walk it out. Those couple extra feet make a huge difference.