Should I connect my sub to my new Panamax MAX 4300?

Discussion in 'Speakers' started by John Pine, Apr 23, 2004.

  1. John Pine

    John Pine Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    988
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just purchased a Panamax MAX 4300 line conditioner/surge suppressor. I would like to keep everything plugged into the 4300, including my sub. I understand that's what it's designed for. But, I'm just curious about the power consumption issues. I know the 4300 is rated at 15A (1800W). The "Panamax Bubble of Protection" is of secondary concern as I have an additional homeowners rider just for my computer and audio setup. Performance is the paramount concern! I have an old TrippLite surge protector I can use just for my sub and plug it into another outlet (different breaker). Will the cleaner power from the 4300 benefit my sub in any way? Or should I just plug my sub into a different outlet off a different breaker?

    h/k AVR-525……..…...1024W (max)
    Velodyne CHT-12…...…400W (max)….170W RMS
    Denon 2900…….....………27W
    Sony VCR....................19W
    Toshiba 35”…..…....……125W
    dual PC case fans p/s….25W
     
  2. Philip>L

    Philip>L Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    122
    Likes Received:
    0
    Try it both ways and choose which one you like better.
     
  3. John Pine

    John Pine Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    988
    Likes Received:
    0
    I will be doing that this weekend but I was just wondering if the sub would benefit at all from being on a different outlet and breaker than my 525.
     
  4. John Garcia

    John Garcia Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 1999
    Messages:
    11,571
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    NorCal
    Real Name:
    John
    I didn't notice any difference between the 4300 and the outlet, however when I moved it to a non-current limited outlet on my 5100, I noticed what seemed like an improvement in tightness. If you cannot tell a difference both ways, I'd leave it on the 4300, otherwise pick up one of their SUB-2s for $30.
     
  5. Ken Smith

    Ken Smith Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2001
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    I agree with John. Get one of their Sub-2's. You will need extra cable though. You'll need LFE cable coming from rec. to sub-2's line in connector and then another piece of LFE cable from the Sub-2's out connector to the LFE on the subwoofer.
    When my old #5300 took a hit they had a special upgrade going on. I got the #5100 for $99.95 and they sold me Sub-2 for $25.00
     
  6. Matt_Smi

    Matt_Smi Second Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    327
    Likes Received:
    0
    Unrelated but how do you like your Velodyne CHT-12 Sub?
     
  7. John Pine

    John Pine Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    988
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ken & John: Good info guys! I didn't know about the Sub-2's. I'll check into it. THX

    Matt:
    I've had it for about a year and I still like it a lot! I didn't have the dough for an SVS at the time. If size is not an issue, it's tough to beat this sub!
     
  8. John Pine

    John Pine Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    988
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ken & John: I checked out the Panamax "Max 2" on their website. The cost of the unit plus another Better Cables "Silver Serpent" set might make that option cost prohibitive. Looks like a solid product though. Right now I have the sub plugged into the 4300 via a Panamax 10' ext cord. I was unable to tell a difference between the 4300 and another outlet. I guess my sub is still covered with the power line being connected to the 4300. But, there is no protection on the LFE lines connecting them.
     
  9. John Garcia

    John Garcia Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 1999
    Messages:
    11,571
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    NorCal
    Real Name:
    John
    The sub would not be covered unless you are using one of their extension cords, AFAIK.

    Check www.powersystemsdirect.com for the Sub2, that's where I got mine, as well as my 4300 and 5100. If your receiver is plugged into the 4300, I don't think you need to loop the interconnect to the sub2, since both are already protected.
     
  10. John Pine

    John Pine Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    988
    Likes Received:
    0
    John: Yes, my h/k 525 is connected to the 4300 and I ordered a 10' Panamax extension which is connected directly to my sub. So, I think my "Bubble of Protection" is acceptable according to Panamax.
     
  11. Ken Smith

    Ken Smith Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 20, 2001
    Messages:
    100
    Likes Received:
    0
    John, I doubt if you need a Better Cables "Silver Serpent" for sub cable. I was using Monster Cables sub cable and decided to make my own with Belden 1694A cable and Canare RCA connectors. Sounds alot better than Monster's and cheaper too. Any good RG-6 should work though.
    John Garcia is correct in stating that you don't need this loop if you're connected to the 4300. It's only needed if you plug into the Sub-2. Panamax told me it was for line protection.
    Ken
     
  12. John Pine

    John Pine Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2002
    Messages:
    988
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ken: For a sub application you may be right. But, I was so impressed with my Silver Serpent 5.1 interconnects for my SACD/DVD-A setup. I immediately could tell a difference from my old Monster Cable MK300's. I listen to a lot of Jazz & Blues. The vocals were more dynamic & life-like and the bottom was slightly less bloated. Shortly there after I bought the Silver Serpent dual-plug sub kit.
     

Share This Page