Setting up Sony HT-SS370 HTIB to tv and cable

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by Jordan2adams, Jul 19, 2012.

  1. Jordan2adams

    Jordan2adams Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey all, first timer here with what may be an easy question to most of you.
    I recently purchased the SONY HT-SS370 for my dorm room next year. The cable in the dorm room does not have a box, it is from the wall. Also the tv I have does have and hdmi hookup. The receiver has hdmi, optical and av hook ups. I was wondering how to put this all together to be able to watch tv in surround sound with the cable, and also use the xbox 360 for games and movies.
    Thanks guys,
    Jordan
     
  2. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    899
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Two HDMI(Xbox to Sony, Sony to TV)
    You are "done" if the Sony has ARC and the TV has ARC...
    If not you need a digital tos-link cable...if the TV has tos-link.
    If the TV has a digital Coax, you need a DC to TL converter.
     
  3. Jordan2adams

    Jordan2adams Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Awesome, thanks for the reply. One last thing, in all these situations the cable from the wall goes into the tv, not the receiver if I am correct.
    Thanks,
    Jordan
     
  4. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    899
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Correct.
     
  5. Al.Anderson

    Al.Anderson Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Messages:
    2,535
    Likes Received:
    68
    Real Name:
    Al
    If the cable is also carrying an FM signal you could spit it and also go to your receiver.
     
  6. Jordan2adams

    Jordan2adams Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, after looking at the TV , i have to go with option 3 DC to TL converter. That would be just audio right, for video I would then go from HDMI to HDMI even though the HDMI on the tv is not ARC.
    If im not right let me know, im just guessing on that one.
    Thanks
     
  7. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    899
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    So your TV does have a digital coax and not a Tos-link?
    Not uncommon.
    Yes you need a digital coax to tos-link converter...as an example...
    http://www.amazon.com/Digital-Coaxial-Toslink-Optical-Converter/dp/B001622FL8/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1342813293&sr=1-1&keywords=digital+coax+toslink (no, I don't know how good this one is)
    Now I'm going to ask a dumb(but pertinent) question...
    This isn't a LCD/DVD combo is it?
     
  8. Jordan2adams

    Jordan2adams Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, the tv is not a lcd dvd combo. Thanks for the example on DC to TL converter.
     
  9. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    899
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    The reason I asked about the LCD/DVD combo...
    Almost all of those are dig coax...and...
    The only thing that exits the DC is the DVD player. The tuner (and all the other inputs) are stuck in purgatory.
     
  10. Jordan2adams

    Jordan2adams Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well good thing then its not haha.
    So to sum it up, in my case that i need to purchase a DC to TL converter , a Toslink male to male and a coaxial male to male, along with an HDMI for video.
     
  11. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    899
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Yep. 4 total cables and one converter box.
    By the way...you may not need to purchase a digital coax(or it will make it much less expensive)...
    Digital coax=digital subwoofer cable*=yellow video cable(known as composite)
    *You'll find two classes of subwoofer cable...
    Normal subwoofer cable which is essentially a standard RCA.
    Digital subwoofer cable which is made from coax.
    And if coax "seems familiar"...
    Coax is your "cable coax" or your "satellite TV coax"...just with RCA ends.
     
  12. Jordan2adams

    Jordan2adams Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Awesome, thanks so much for your help, made my install time one hundred times easier. This system is gonna sound a whole lot better than my tv audio in the dorm.
    Thanks again man
     
  13. Jordan2adams

    Jordan2adams Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey so i set it up in the room with the cable the way you said, but there is still no sound output. Any ideas?
     
  14. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    899
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    no sound output from what, via what?
     

Share This Page