What's new

See, powerline conditioners do matter (Yeah, right!!!) (1 Viewer)

PaulDA

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Paul
I had so much fun going through the cable thread that I thought I'd toss this in.

Power line conditioner

I hope this thread stays as civilized and, especially, entertaining, as the cable one.

I'm no engineer, so perhaps the claims made in this article are true, but I have to think that the going price for such devices is astronomical. I do understand enough about electricity to know that "dirty" power can have demonstrable effects, but apart from a good surge protector, what else does one really need? Am I going to have to build my own little powerplant in my backyard to fully appreciate my stuff?

Let the fun begin.

P.S. Apologies for ripping off someone else's thread idea. It's all meant in good fun.

SethH

Senior HTF Member
I really think you have to look at the rest of your system to determine if this is right for you. If you're running a Kenwood HTIB then you certainly have no reason to spend $200-? on a power conditioner, it just doesn't make sense. BUT, if you've got $100,000 worth of speakers in a 5.1 system and $50,000 worth of components attached to them, then I imagine a $2000 power conditioner would probably make a difference.

Now most of us fall somewhere between these two situations, so I think you just have to look at your system and see if it's justified. Another option is to buy one with a good return policy and try it. If it does nothing you can notice, return it for a $30 surge protector.

Lewis Besze

Senior HTF Member
Same old BS! It was more "amusing" 10 years ago when I was novice at this hobby.I came to realize it by now that some people treat this as a "religion".

Scott Oliver

Screenwriter

Way to keep it civilized right off the bat, two posts in to the thread we have a low blow thrown. Could this be a record?:emoji_thumbsup: