SATAII drive with SATA 150 interface?

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Chris S, Dec 11, 2005.

  1. Chris S

    Chris S Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2000
    Messages:
    2,538
    Likes Received:
    4
    Real Name:
    Chris S
    I have an ABIT AV8 motherboard that has two SATA 150 connections but I'm wondering will it also work with an SATA II hard drive?

    Thanks,
    Chris S.
     
  2. Aaron Gould

    Aaron Gould Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2002
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    London, Ontario, Canada
    Real Name:
    Aaron Gould
    Hi Chris...

    SATA II is definitely backwards compatible with SATA. The cables are identical. You just won't be able to take advantage of the "faster" throughput.

    Check this page out for more SATA info:

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Serial_ATA

     
  3. Matt Wright

    Matt Wright Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Messages:
    71
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah SATA2 should be backwards compatable, but not always if the vendor of your controller goofs up like VIA apparently did.
    http://www.theinquirer.net/?article=24910
    I don't know the validity of that article.
    Some HDDs ship with a utility where you can change the interface spec down to SATA/150 and then you might be OK.
     
  4. Chris S

    Chris S Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2000
    Messages:
    2,538
    Likes Received:
    4
    Real Name:
    Chris S
    Dang... I did a search and it looks like the inquirer.net article is accurate [​IMG]. Looking at the BIOS updates on the abit site it looks like I'm sol unless I find a drive with a jumper/switch. I've been considering this Western Digital 250G drive but from what I can tell it doesn't appear to have a SATAI jumper.

    Thanks
    Chris S
     
  5. Aaron Gould

    Aaron Gould Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2002
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    London, Ontario, Canada
    Real Name:
    Aaron Gould
    Funny you mention that drive... I just bought one of those last week. I don't recall seeing any jumpers on it, but I wasn't exactly looking for any either.
     
  6. Dennis*G

    Dennis*G Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2003
    Messages:
    524
    Likes Received:
    0
    not sure about WD, but Seagate drives you have to download a program to change the SATA speed of the drive, there are no jumpers on the drive.
     

Share This Page