Samsung LN52A850 Question

Discussion in 'Displays' started by Glassjoe, Dec 14, 2008.

  1. Glassjoe

    Glassjoe Extra

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hello everyone. I just purchased this TV last night and got a great deal on it from Best Buy ($2299). One of the features that drove me to this TV was the 120hz refresh. I do not know a ton about this technology and how/when it is applied, but after going through all the menus, I still cannot find the answer to a question about 120hz refresh.

    When I turn on my TV and it selects the HDMI input, in an info window in the top left of the screen it shows the screen resolution @ 60hx instead of 120hz. Somewhere in one of the menus there is a place to turn 120hz refresh to low-med-high and I have high selected. However, I am not sure if the screen is actually refreshing at 120hz all the time. Does anyone know anything about how this is supposed to work? I was under the assumption the TV refreshed at 120hz full time. Is this not the case?


    Here is my setup:

    Samsung LN52A850 1080p 120hz HDTV
    Motorola DCH6416 HD DVR (HDMI 1)
    Samsung BD-P2550 Blu-Ray (HDMI 2)
    Xbox 360 Elite (HDMI 3)
    Harmon Kardon AVR230 Receiver
     
  2. Glassjoe

    Glassjoe Extra

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2008
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Bump... anyone know if 120hz is supposed to be applied all the time?
     
  3. Steve Schaffer

    Steve Schaffer Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 1999
    Messages:
    3,759
    Likes Received:
    1

    That display is telling you what the incoming framerate is, not what the tv is actually doing. Note that it also displays the incoming resolution (480i, 480p, 720p, 1080i, 1080p) not the set's native 1080p.
     
  4. Gregg Loewen

    Gregg Loewen Video Standards Instructor, THX Ltd.
    Insider

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 1999
    Messages:
    6,379
    Likes Received:
    32
    Location:
    New England
    Real Name:
    Gregg Loewen
    samsung would like you to use it all the time. However when you do use it the image will un naturally smooth..kind of like looking at cartoon and not a film based medium.
     
  5. Adam_R

    Adam_R Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2002
    Messages:
    395
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the LN52A650 and I leave that AMP stuff off. It just interpolates frames and it adds motion artifacts. Not good stoff IMHO.
     
  6. JoePapa

    JoePapa Auditioning

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I am thinking of mounting the LN52A850 recessed into an 11 inch deep Bookcase (not yet built). I realize the stand will not fit (12.4 inches deep), so I could use a wall mount bracket. My question is how much clearance should I leave on the sides and top/bottom to provide enough cooling? Do you think I need an external cooling fan? For example will an opening of 52”x 33” work?
    Thanks
     

Share This Page