S-Video cable for Sega Saturn?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jesse Skeen, Sep 19, 2001.

  1. Jesse Skeen

    Jesse Skeen Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 1999
    Messages:
    4,275
    Likes Received:
    192
    Does anyone know if the S-Video cables sold for use with the Sega Dreamcast will also work with the Saturn? The end that connects to the system looks the same, but I can't tell if it really is or not.
     
  2. Kelley_B

    Kelley_B Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,329
    Likes Received:
    0
    No the Saturn has a plug that is very similar to S-Video, whereas the Dreamcast uses a Multiout that is very similar to the PlayStations Multiout.
     
  3. Michael St. Clair

    Joined:
    May 3, 1999
    Messages:
    6,009
    Likes Received:
    0
    I bought a gold-plated Saturn s-video cable from Hong Kong for about 2 bucks 2 years ago, and if I had known what a rare item they had become, I would have bought a couple of dozen.
    You can get one from Lik Sang at http://www.lik-sang.com/catalog/prod...ducts_id=1097&
    You'll want to buy a couple of other things if they have something you want cheap, otherwise shipping is going to cost more than the cable.
    [Edited last by Michael St. Clair on September 19, 2001 at 08:27 PM]
     
  4. Jesse Skeen

    Jesse Skeen Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 1999
    Messages:
    4,275
    Likes Received:
    192
    Yep, the connector is different than the Dreamcast's- I got it confused with the controller connectors. That really sucks how they have game systems made so you have to use THEIR cables instead of putting regular S-video out jacks on the systems! I remember you had to buy a whole attachment for the Turbografx system just to get ANY A/V outputs on it!
     
  5. Jeff Kleist

    Jeff Kleist Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 1999
    Messages:
    11,286
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yup. The basic reason is cost. Outputs take up a lot of real estate on a console, and only the PS1 originals had even seperate RCAs on them. It's a lot cheaper and more versitile to just use cables like that,because you can serve everyone out of 1 connector on the board
    Jeff Kleist
     
  6. Graeme Clark

    Graeme Clark Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2000
    Messages:
    2,181
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  7. BrianB

    BrianB Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2000
    Messages:
    5,211
    Likes Received:
    1
     
  8. Kelley_B

    Kelley_B Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2001
    Messages:
    2,329
    Likes Received:
    0
    Or in the case of the Jap. GameCube selling any cables period, as the system didn't come with any!
     

Share This Page