RPTV that can show 720p w/o conversion?

Discussion in 'Displays' started by ashley__cooper, Oct 1, 2003.

  1. ashley__cooper

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been looking, but I can't find anything that will do this. Also important is not converting 480i to anything else either. Basically no automatic conversion. As an indie filmmaker, the accuracy is important.
    Thanks ahead of time for any help!
     
  2. DuWayne

    DuWayne Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
    um....there are plenty out there, like my Philips 55PL977S/3. It's 720p native LCOS RPTV. Plus almost any DLP.
     
  3. John_F

    John_F Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 1999
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't think LCOS/DLP/LCD based sets would solve the OP's problem, wouldn't 480i need to be converted for LCOS?
     
  4. PhilBoy

    PhilBoy Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Samsung DLP.
     
  5. John_F

    John_F Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 1999
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0

    Won't the Samsung DLP convert 480i?
     
  6. Michael TLV

    Michael TLV THX Video Instructor/Calibrator

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2000
    Messages:
    2,909
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    Real Name:
    Michael Chen
    Greetings

    Mind you that HD sets also convert 480i to 480p so conversion of one sort or another is unavoidable.

    Regards
     
  7. PhilBoy

    PhilBoy Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    427
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oops... I shudda read the whole question.

    Current Samsung DLP's native display is 720p. Everything coming in is converted to that (including 480i).

    Sorry.
     
  8. John_F

    John_F Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 1999
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    Michael, I was not aware of that, I thought there may be some CRT RPTV sets that display 480i "natively".

    Thanks.
     
  9. DuWayne

    DuWayne Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  10. John_F

    John_F Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 1999
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0

    Are these being sold anymore? I checked Panasonic, Toshiba, and Sony web sites, and all of their current RPTVs are HD compatible.

    Also, do you need component inputs to do 480i, I thought that any connection (composite, S-Video) could pass 480i?

    Thanks,
    John Flegert
     
  11. DuWayne

    DuWayne Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  12. Michael TLV

    Michael TLV THX Video Instructor/Calibrator

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2000
    Messages:
    2,909
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Calgary, Alberta
    Real Name:
    Michael Chen
    Greetings

    There was a time when you could get a set that did this. A Panasonic RPTV from 4 years ago. It did 720 native and you could turn the line doubling off for 480i native material.

    I have not seen a TV since the 2001 Pannys that could even disable the line doubling.

    Regards
     
  13. John_F

    John_F Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 1999
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    DuWayne, I am not familiar with the term "HD Upgradable". Could you please provide a a manufacturer and model # that has this?

    Thanks again.
     
  14. DuWayne

    DuWayne Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  15. ashley__cooper

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2003
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the help, but I'm still a little confused. So it's not a possibility to get an HD rptv to show 480i native w/o conversion even if I don't go through the external HD converter?
    So is my only option to find a 2001 panasonic? If so, could someone please give me some model numbers or somehting?
    Am I crazy, or are these tvs just not designed for people with precise technical needs? Would I have better luck with projectors?
     
  16. DuWayne

    DuWayne Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  17. Stephen Tu

    Stephen Tu Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 1999
    Messages:
    1,573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Look into professional studio monitors rather than consumer TV sets. Consumer TVs don't support multiple scan rates so they can be made cheaper. You'll have to spend a lot more money to get what you are apparently looking for. It may be impossible to get something that does both 480i (15.75 kHz scan rate) & 720p (45 kHz scan rate); you might have to buy 2 sets.

    Fixed pixel display will also never work for this.

    You'll have better luck with CRT front projectors; 480p->720p should be no problem to find. Don't know about 480i though. Don't you have a normal TV around you can use for the 480i?
     
  18. Matthew Todd

    Matthew Todd Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2000
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    0


    As mentioned above, the only way to do this may be with a CRT projector. I've got a CRT front projector, and it can be fed any scan rate you want from 15kHz to 105kHz, so you can do 480i, 720p, 1080i, 1080p, etc.

    You can set up a CRT front projector be be a rear projector, and I've even seen some that were manufactured that way with a built in screen (that's really what an RPTV is anyway, except that it's difficult to find consumer models that do multiple scan rates).

    Used CRT projectors (and if you're lucky you may find one that is pre-setup for rear projection including the built in screen (e.g. I've seen an Ampro 3600 Retro like this) are about the same cost (or less) as an RPTV. The Ampro 3600 Retro I saw was available for $700, but they can be pretty hard to find.

    Matt
     
  19. John_F

    John_F Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 1999
    Messages:
    126
    Likes Received:
    0
    DuWayne, thanks for the clarification. I guess I got a little confused by your phrasing:



    I see now that you are refering to the original posters specific question.

    I didn't think that "HD Upgradable" was a industry accepted terminology, for example, I believe Toshiba calls this HD compatible.

    I guess I don't like your definition of HD upgradable because it seems to differ based on the display technology. For example your definition applies to RPTVs, but if you look at the Mit's plasma, they call it "HD Upgradable" even though it will accept 720p. Isn't Mits definition of "HD upgradable": an external HDTV STB is needed.

    Sorry for hijacking the thread.
     
  20. DuWayne

    DuWayne Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2003
    Messages:
    160
    Likes Received:
    0
     

Share This Page