Resume Play,why can't HD do this

Discussion in 'Blu-ray and UHD' started by Peter Neski, Dec 30, 2007.

  1. Peter Neski

    Peter Neski Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    32
    one of the few bad things about HDDVD and Blueray is the fact that theres
    no Resume Play feature on HD Titles,Why is this,If you play a Disney title
    and stop in the middle,your really are in for it,First the dvd has to load all
    that stupid Java crap,then comes 8 trailors which you can't hit the menu
    button on,so you have to keep clicking the chapter next button,till
    you finally get to the menu.

    While the stardard HD menu is lame,the design of going to the next menu
    and so on,is simple and easy to do ,it makes sense so HD gets a Big +
    for that,for not doing new menus for HD/DVD flippers HD get a big - for
    that.
     
  2. Mike Williams

    Mike Williams Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2003
    Messages:
    1,020
    Likes Received:
    1
    i've noticed that on Dracula and Halloween, the disc is able to pick up where it left off, so I think it has something to do with authoring the disc rather than the players.
     
  3. WadeM

    WadeM Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    963
    Likes Received:
    51
    I agree that this is a big minus!!
     
  4. Patrick Sun

    Patrick Sun Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1999
    Messages:
    38,644
    Likes Received:
    419
    If you get in the habit of using the "bookmark" feature, it'll act as a "resume" feature. I know HD DVD has bookmarks, but can't recall if BD has bookmarks.
     
  5. Brandon Conway

    Brandon Conway captveg

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Messages:
    8,476
    Likes Received:
    1,208
    Location:
    North Hollywood, CA
    Real Name:
    Brandon Conway
    A handful of BDs have bookmarks.

    Some BD players will resume play with some discs. I know the PS3 and the Panasonic BD10 resume play with Warner and Sony titles.
     
  6. Douglas Monce

    Douglas Monce Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    5,514
    Likes Received:
    12


    It's not some players with some discs. The controlling factor here is if the disc was authored in advanced mode or not. Up until recently most blu-ray discs were not authored in advanced mode, so they would resume play. I believe that most if not all HD DVDs have been authored in advanced mode, which is why people thought that HD DVD players couldn't do resume play.

    Bottom line, if it is and advanced mode disc, it won't resume.

    Get used to using the bookmark feature.

    Doug
     
  7. Sam Davatchi

    Sam Davatchi Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 15, 1999
    Messages:
    3,150
    Likes Received:
    0
    Well their advanced mode looks lame and doesn't look so advanced! [​IMG] They should work on the resume feature. I have heard we are able to break atom and other stuff nowadays! [​IMG]
     
  8. Douglas Monce

    Douglas Monce Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    5,514
    Likes Received:
    12

    Yeah we can put a man on the moon but we can't resume our HD media! Whats the world coming too????

    Doug
     
  9. Matt Butler

    Matt Butler Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2001
    Messages:
    1,915
    Likes Received:
    1
    Lack of resume is the only thing I hate about Blu.

    Ive only had Blu for a few weeks but Ive never heard about the bookmark feature. I run a Sony bd301. Do I have bookmark?
     
  10. David Wilkins

    David Wilkins Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2001
    Messages:
    827
    Likes Received:
    7
    It's incredibly lame and stupid. Simply no excuse for it. This is basic stuff, like sliced bread. True, it's a minor thing, but that's all the more reason it should be a no-brainer...something we should never have to ask for. Like expecting the light to damn well come on when you flip the frigging switch. This might be hi-def, but it still ain't rocket science.
     
  11. Douglas Monce

    Douglas Monce Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    5,514
    Likes Received:
    12


    I'm still not exactly sure why they can't resume in advanced mode, other than the fact that it has to load all this data into memory. I don't know why the disc can't play where you left off once the data has loaded.

    Doug
     
  12. Kyle McKnight

    Kyle McKnight Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2001
    Messages:
    2,504
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wow, I wasn't aware of this. I'm so used to DVDs that I stopped watching, starting back up where I left off, I can't believe this feature would just be dropped.
     
  13. Carlo Medina

    Carlo Medina Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 1997
    Messages:
    10,410
    Likes Received:
    621
    By not including the resume feature, they broke the one of the tenets of the unspoken code of technological advancement: offer at least what the predecessor offered, especially if people use/like that feature. Resume play was available on DVD, and is apparently used by quite a few of us, it should have been included in HD/BD. Period.

    Don't get me wrong, I still enjoy my PS3/BD but this was a major gaff of an omission.
     
  14. Douglas Monce

    Douglas Monce Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    5,514
    Likes Received:
    12
    Again its not that they left it out, my SD DVDs resume in my HD DVD player, and some blu-ray discs that are not authored in advanced mode do resume in my blu-ray player.

    There is some technical reason why HD DVDs and blu-ray discs authored in advanced mode don't resume. I have, however never heard the reasons why it doesn't work. I'm really only guessing about data needing to be loaded into the player's memory. But I'm not sure why that would have an effect on the ability to resume.

    Doug
     
  15. David Wilkins

    David Wilkins Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2001
    Messages:
    827
    Likes Received:
    7


    Bing! That's precisely the issue. The bookmark feature isn't nearly as quick or simple. It's hard to believe that programming all that goes into choosing the bookmark feature and implementing it, was less trouble than "resume play".

    Jeez, you can resume play with a VHS, so long as it hasn't been rewound.
     
  16. EricW

    EricW Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2001
    Messages:
    2,308
    Likes Received:
    0
    i'm going to assume that the reason is DRM. it's the only logical reason why developers would do it. maybe accessing the last-played point gives hackers a window to breaking the code or something? i can't imagine any other reason.
     
  17. Peter Neski

    Peter Neski Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2005
    Messages:
    959
    Likes Received:
    32
    My Pioneer dvd player lets me even take the dvd out of the player,and when
    I put it back in,it goes to the same spot,
     
  18. Douglas Monce

    Douglas Monce Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 2006
    Messages:
    5,514
    Likes Received:
    12

    Most standard DVD players do that.

    Doug
     
  19. Mark Zimmer

    Mark Zimmer Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    4,300
    Likes Received:
    40
    Toshiba being the prime backer of HD DVD probably had something to do with it; many if not most of the standard Tosh DVD players I've owned or tried out lacked this feature, even on high end machines. Toshiba apparently doesn't believe it's an important feature, and didn't make any effort to require it in the HD DVD specs. They were wrong.

    What Blu's excuse is, I have no idea.
     
  20. Aaron Silverman

    Aaron Silverman Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 1999
    Messages:
    10,767
    Likes Received:
    577
    Location:
    Florida
    Real Name:
    Aaron Silverman
    This is a madhouse. A MADHOUSE!!!!

    Seriously. . .we can store our own clip shows and synchronize viewings with online buddies, but can't resume play of a stopped disc? Stop trying so hard to come up with anything NEW and instead get something USEFUL working!

    With a 2-year-old around, this is a serious issue!
     

Share This Page