Region coding

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Daniel-M, Apr 29, 2006.

  1. Daniel-M

    Daniel-M Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2005
    Messages:
    333
    Likes Received:
    0
    As far as i know nothing has been announced regarding regional coding on either Blu-Ray or HD-DVD. Does anyone know how this works
     
  2. Mark Zimmer

    Mark Zimmer Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    4,300
    Likes Received:
    38
    I've heard conflicting things, that HD-DVD has no region coding, and also that it there is region coding but that it has much bigger regions. FWIW, the HD-A1 manual does not mention region coding at all, a point about which the 1st generation DVD players were all very clear on.
     
  3. Steve...O

    Steve...O Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2003
    Messages:
    4,094
    Likes Received:
    643
    Real Name:
    Steve
    So does this mean that the players are "region free" or just that the software currently available is "region 0"?
     
  4. StephenC

    StephenC Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2001
    Messages:
    137
    Likes Received:
    0
    But this does not apply to SD DVDs, correct?
     
  5. Mark Zimmer

    Mark Zimmer Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    4,300
    Likes Received:
    38
    Right, SD DVDs are still region coded and the HD-A1 is coded R1. BD players presumably will work the same way, since they're still both subject to the DVD Forum rules as far as how they handle SD DVD.
     
  6. JediFonger

    JediFonger Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2006
    Messages:
    3,958
    Likes Received:
    24
    Real Name:
    YiFeng You
    instead of 7 or 8 regions for SD-DVD, HD discs will have 3 regions. and yesh, it's still here kids =(.
     

Share This Page