What's new

recommendations on $300 receiver, please? (1 Viewer)

Douglas^H

Auditioning
Hello.

I currently own an Aiwa 200 watt Dolby Pro Logic receiver that is about 6 years old, and I have decided to upgrade to a Digital receiver with more power. I have put a price cap of $300 on what I'm looking for, as I'm just starting out in the world after school and don't have a lot of money to spend.
Based on my research, I'm strongly considering the Pioneer VSX-D811S receiver since it has all of the surround technologies, 600 watts, and it looks to be a great deal at $302 shipped (from 6ave.com which has very high user ratings). Second place in my opinion would be the Panasonic SA-HE100, which would be about $50 cheaper, but with less features. What recommendations do you have for me for the best receiver for $300 or less?

-----------------------------------------------------------

Also, if you feel like reading further, could I get opinions on surround speaker purchase, too?

I started off with a KLH home theatre speaker package which...well, let's just say I upgraded soon after. So, right now I'm using Technics floor speakers with 12" woofers and 200watt power handling, a Cambridge Soundworks Center Channel Plus speaker (the really long one with 5 drivers) and my old KLH surrounds. So much for a matched set... Anyway, I plan on keeping my Technics speakers and Cambridge center, but the KLH's only handle 60 watts, so I'll probably need to upgrade those. Plus, if I go with a 6.1 channel receiver, I'll be wanting 1 or 2 more speakers at some point, too (I think I'll start by just bridging both of my KLH's to 1 channel for rear surround.....if that can be done safely). What speakers would you recommend for good, cheap surround sound? Would it be best to go with Cambridge, since my center is Cambridge, or would other speakers be better? I don't want to pay a lot because I figure surround speakers aren't that important anyway. Is that true, or am I mistaken?