What's new

Receiver choice--need lots of A/V inputs, hopefully DTS-ES and/or Dolby EX (1 Viewer)

DaveGTP

Senior HTF Member
All,
I am a home theater newbie. Or I should say, I was, until I started reading this board a few months ago. Now I feel like I know about 5% of what I need to know to not be a newbie :). I try and offer my input on the message boards that I can help with (IE HTPC board).
I have been attempting to research a receiver purchase for quite a while. I thought about HTIBs, but from my PC-building experience, I know that when you guys say that you can do much better for the $$ doing it yourself, I believe you.
My first and hardest step is the A/V receiver. I have been doing quite a research on receivers. I have a rather large collection of video game systems, both vintage (NES, Atari) and new (PS2, Gamecube).
I need a lot of video inputs to handle all of the video sources. I currently have a s-video/composite switch that I use for video switching.
I have a 2-yr old or so 27" Zenith TV with one composite/s-video input (it won't let me plug in both at once, very annoying). I am hoping to upgrade to a 42" plasma HD in a few years when the prices get cheaper, so I am forward-looking (I would like to have HD quality composite video switching).
Ease of use is a plus, but I think I will end up getting a programmable HT remote some day anyway.
I seem to have settled on the Onkyo TX-SR600
It has 5 s-video inputs, 2 composite 60 Mhz inputs for switching. Also, DTS-ES and DD EX processing. I could wish for more video inputs, as the composite ones do me no good right now.
Any suggestions? I am concerned with, in this order:
1) S-video/composite inputs to one output
2) Looking forward to the future if I can
3) Sound support for LOTR EE DVDs (DTS-ES, DD EX) :)