Quick Question for Denon 3803 owners.......

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Robert M. Moran, Apr 22, 2003.

  1. Robert M. Moran

    Robert M. Moran Auditioning

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is it possible to do an Audio only switch? for example, i will be running an Xbox and a CD player through my reciever. Will i be able to switch on the Xbox signal while listening to an Audio CD?
     
  2. Chuck Kent

    Chuck Kent Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 29, 1999
    Messages:
    983
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, you can watch one thing and listen to another. 1st, choose your audio source as you always do (in this case, CD.) Then, on the left side of the 3803's front panel, press the Video Select button and turn the function knob above it until you choose the video source you are wanting to watch (in this case, the Xbox.) (BTW, if you want to spend a little money ($20 to $25), you can obtain the Video Select remote code by "creating" it from certain models of One For All remote controls. This would let you change the Video Select without needing to use the receiver's front panel.)
     
  3. jeff_coil

    jeff_coil Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Chuck do you know the code? If so could you share
    thanks Jeff
     
  4. Robert M. Moran

    Robert M. Moran Auditioning

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2002
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    outstanding! Thanks !
     
  5. Chuck Kent

    Chuck Kent Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 29, 1999
    Messages:
    983
    Likes Received:
    0
    Jeff: If you have a One For All remote that allows the creation of discrete codes, the device number is 0160 and the button code is 218.

    I taught the code to my MX-500 universal remote. I use this code quite a bit and it sure beats having to get off of the couch!
     
  6. John_I

    John_I Auditioning

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Which one for all remotes have the discrete capability? Thanks!!
     
  7. Jamey F

    Jamey F Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    I believe all of them, but they may program differently, and some may not have support for certain type devices. Also, there are many of the Radio Shack remotes that will do the codes also. I like the ones with support for 8 devices. I have a RS 15-2116(about $25), so I could learn some discrete codes that weren't on my TV's remote. It does everything I could want as a cheap remote to learn codes from. Go to remotecentral.com for tons more info on remotes.

    Chuck, anymore discretes that are useful. I'm sure I would use that one occasionally, but I don't know that I would redo my Neo just for that one.
     
  8. Chuck Kent

    Chuck Kent Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 29, 1999
    Messages:
    983
    Likes Received:
    0
    Jamey (and others): Go to this link http://www.hifi-remote.com/ofa/faq.shtml

    It has all of the info on how to start using a OFA remote to setup these extra codes (along with a BUNCH of other info to get the most from a OFA remote, if you want to use one on a daily basis.)

    Jamey: Specifically, go to section 3.21 for the Denon codes that are laid out pretty well. There are other places that list Denon codes but this list, IMO, is a little easier to follow. Things like the panel dimmer command and audio or video input scroll modes are available.
     
  9. jeff_coil

    jeff_coil Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2002
    Messages:
    157
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks Chuck
    Its done and works great. I have the MX-500 as well what a damn nice remote it is!
    Jeff
     
  10. John_I

    John_I Auditioning

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks!!
     
  11. Jamey F

    Jamey F Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks. I could see a use for the direct to A,B,C,D,E for the tuner section. The dimmer is one I was looking. I might just have to update the Neo.
     

Share This Page