Quick PS3 connectivity question?

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Dan Keliikoa, Aug 14, 2008.

  1. Dan Keliikoa

    Dan Keliikoa Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all,

    Sincerest apologies if this has come up ad-nauseum, but I don't have the strength for searching this morning. lol

    I'd like to take the plunge for a current 40 gig PS3 in a couple of weeks. What will I need to buy to hook this thing up via HDMI for picture to my tv and digital optical to my receiver for 5.1/7.1 (don't care about HD audio yet...receiver can't do it...and no HDMI switching at my receiver, either)?

    I know they come pretty stripped down, but just wondering if I have to get a 'pack' to be able to hook up, or if I can just use off the shelf HDMI and optical cords?

    Looking forward to upconverting my SD DVDs, starting a BD collection, and playing some GT and The Show. Currently using a JVC 52" Dila display, but will be going to a Samsung LN52A630 or 650 within the next three months.

    Thank you kindly in advance! -Dan
     
  2. Matt Hough

    Matt Hough Executive Producer
    Reviewer

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2006
    Messages:
    14,434
    Likes Received:
    2,855
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Real Name:
    Matt Hough
    Off the shelf HDMI and optical will work fine. That's what I used when I first got my PS3 and had no receiver that could handle HDMI. Coincidentally, I also had a JVC D-ILA 52" TV then as well. All of that has since been upgraded, but you'll be very impressed with the picture.
     
  3. Dan Keliikoa

    Dan Keliikoa Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0

    That's perfect, Matt...thank you! Any PS3 settings advice for my Dila?
     
  4. Bob_L

    Bob_L Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Messages:
    894
    Likes Received:
    1
    Real Name:
    Bob Lindstrom
    As Matt said, regular HDMI and optical audio cables will work fine; they do so in my system. Set your Display for HDMI Automatic and your Sound for Optical with Dolby and DTS definitely chosen (your choice whether to try out the additional LPCM settings).
     
  5. Dan Keliikoa

    Dan Keliikoa Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good deal! Thanks a million!
     
  6. chuckg

    chuckg Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2004
    Messages:
    917
    Likes Received:
    0
    I was a bit confused when I first set up my PS3. There is a note about setting video on HDMI and audio on optical in the instructions, but it wasn't obvious....one navigates the XMB (cross media bar) to the settings and there were a couple of choices, but I didn't see what I was looking for. The thing that got me was that they didn't mention that you have to click or select the settings menu item - in other words, the list of sub-menus does not show up automatically as it does on a PC. You must push a button to show the sub menu.

    After that it was easy!
     
  7. Dan Keliikoa

    Dan Keliikoa Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2003
    Messages:
    199
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thank you kindly, Chuck. I appreciate the 'insider's' tip! I think I've read before that the PS3 is not always the most intuitive beast to set up.

    All tips appreciated to minimize any hair-pulling at setup :^)
     

Share This Page