Quick and hopefully basic ??? about HDTV Programming

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Chris Paulson, Aug 20, 2002.

  1. Chris Paulson

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Do you need digital cable or satellite to receive HDTV broadcasts or?
     
  2. Jack Briggs

    Jack Briggs Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 1999
    Messages:
    16,738
    Likes Received:
    129
    Yes. But you can also receive HDTV over the air if you live near any stations broadcasting digital signals. Very few cable companies support HD with their so-called "digital" cable boxes, however. I don't know about Chicago's situation, though.
     
  3. Chris Paulson

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, so it depends on whether your local network affiliate are able to broadcast in HDTV and if they did, the HD signal can be received via normal t.v. antenna or direct cable signal(nondigital)?
     
  4. David Judah

    David Judah Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Feb 11, 1999
    Messages:
    1,479
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sign up for a free account at TitanTV.com and it will tell you what you can receive in your area from the local affiliates.

    I use a Samsung SIR-T151 HD box to pick up local HD in Albuquerqe. It was a cheap way to get some HD without having to get satellite.

    DJ
     
  5. Chris Paulson

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    David,
    Thanks for the website.
    These HDTV broadcasts are run on a separate channel from the normal affiliate (cbs, cbs-hd)correct? How do I find these seperate Network HD channels?
     
  6. Chris Paulson

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    David,
    Thanks for the website.
    These HDTV broadcasts are run on a separate channel from the normal affiliate (cbs, cbs-hd)correct? How do I find these seperate Network HD channels?
     
  7. James Stierman

    James Stierman Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Messages:
    88
    Likes Received:
    0
    You can only recieve the hd network feeds thru an HD set top box that decodes off antenna, or a handfull of tv have the digital tuner built into them. I heard that samsung makes a nice hd box that will decode of an antenna. If you have a digital decoder it will pick up these feeds and display them.
     
  8. Chris Paulson

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, so you can get the signals through the antenna, and it is up to the box to locate and decode the local HDTV signals. Thanks everybody!
     

Share This Page