Questions on set up with Samsung 3D -LED7500 - Dish - PS3 and Samsung HTiB HT-E4500

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by Awolsmom, Feb 6, 2013.

  1. Awolsmom

    Awolsmom Auditioning

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a simple set up with 4 devices that has become very complicated. :huh: Can not get all speakers to work with new Samsung 3D BluRay HTiB. I am trying to set up a Samsung BluRay 3D HTiB with Dish TV, PS3 and my Samsung LED tv with no luck with the all speakers working. I am not getting sound out of my 2 surround and center speaker but the left right and woofer are ok. I have tried HDMI, audio cables from Samsung TV (Samsung audio black jack with red & white to BluRay), Samsung two prong green plug with red/white plug, Optical cable. I have run out of combinations and need advice. No luck with asking Samsung support. I have gone thru Anynet and sound settings. I have had the BluRay set on Aux (but tried all others). The tone test worked fine. Unplugged and plugged back in for hard reset.
     
  2. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    899
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Did you connect the PS3 to the optical input on the HTiB? OR...."what" can you not get 5.1? Everything? or what?
     
  3. Awolsmom

    Awolsmom Auditioning

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have the PS3 right now playing the BluRay movies until I get the connections correct on the new Bluray player. The problem may be that I have the HDMI plugs DVI and ARC from the TV hooked up to the PS3 and Dish TV. The speaker plugs are color coordinated so no confusion there. The Dish receiver connection is very complicated since it involves a splitter so I can have PIP and also see in another room. I'm disappointed that the QWERTY remote for the TV can not operate the HTiB other than off/on. I have not ventured to undo the PS3 connection to the TV....it took 3 different techs from Dish to make everything work. The former audio system was audio cables (Black with red/white) from the TV directly to the audio system receiver....it was a cheap Panasonic under 500 watts :rolleyes:
     
  4. Ronald Epstein

    Ronald Epstein Administrator
    Owner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1997
    Messages:
    46,615
    Likes Received:
    4,486
    Real Name:
    Ronald Epstein
    Hi Schan! Appreciate you helping this gentleman any way you can. He sent me a PM with his situation. I know these HTIB setups can be a pain-in-the-neck with their special connections (if that is the problem at all).
     
  5. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    899
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    His first problem is he didn't buy the right HTiB with enough inputs. He needs a toslink switch.
     
  6. Awolsmom

    Awolsmom Auditioning

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2013
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    This was the right HTIB that Samsung suggested for the 3D tv - - and it has HDMI, Optical and the various red white yellow audio inputs. What is a toslink switch and how does it work with this type of set up and what would this do to make to make ALL the speakers work?
     
  7. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    899
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    This HTiB has no video inputs...none. The HDMI is out only. Yellow is not for audio...and it is an output. The only "more than stereo" input you got is the one toslink. You have two devices. A set top box and a PS3. They both need to be connected to the HTiB vis toslink...hence the toslink switch.
     
  8. luanng

    luanng Auditioning

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2013
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Connect everything to your tv by hdmi. Your tv should have toslink out. Buy a toslink cable. Connect it to the toslink in your htib system. U should be able to get surround now.
     
  9. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,112
    Likes Received:
    899
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    TV audio output from the STB and PS3 will only provide 2.0PCM. His PS3 and STB have to have, period, a direct connection via toslink to his HTiB.
     

Share This Page