What's new

questions about making a connection..please help! (1 Viewer)

Zack_b

Grip
i apologize if my questions are a bit on the newbie side as i am new to the form, but the question is: i have a basic newbie HT and the wiring im using is 14 ga. monster XP. is this a decent wire for my applications? also my receiver has binding posts but my speakers have spring clips. should i use bananna plugs in the binding posts and a pin connector for the clips or how should i connect this stuff? thanks for the input all, and any comments or suggestions are greatly appreciated.

zack

Allan Jayne

Senior HTF Member
If you can get the bare wire end securely and snugly into the binding post or whatever, with good metal to metal contact, and without stray strands touching other metal, you don't need banana plugs or other accessories. Twist the strands to make them stay together.
For binding posts with a plastic screw down cap, it is better to insert the wire end through the cross hole (if any) and a little out the other side, rather than wrap the wire around. It is OK to cut off some of the strands (not more than a third of them) if they all don't fit into the clip or hole.
If it turns out you need to take apart the equipment and re-assemble it a lot, for example a portable setup taken into auditoriums, banana plugs come in handy.
I believe the 14 gauge wire is good to about 30 feet, some others say 20 feet. If you have lots of amplifier power want to play the sound loud, and the speakers are further away, get some inexpensive 12 gauge stranded wire such as from Radio Shack.
Video hints:
http://members.aol.com/ajaynejr/video.htm

Ted Lee

Senior HTF Member
i'm on the opposite camp than allan...
i prefer banana plugs and pin connections for the exact reasons he listed. if this, and that, and that...just too many variables.