Question about optical inputs...what if you run out on the receiver???

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by CoreyAC, Nov 6, 2007.

  1. CoreyAC

    CoreyAC Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Yamaha htr 5840...it has two optical inputs for audio...and i don't have any hdmi's on the receiver which sux

    I have digital cable running optical...i have my XBOX 360 running optical and i have now an HD DVD player to run optical...

    what do i do?
     
  2. Phil A

    Phil A Producer
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2000
    Messages:
    3,123
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Central FL
    Real Name:
    Phil
    Various places sell cheap manual switchers (e.g. with 3 inputs and one output) that are around $15 give or take a little. You can look at places like monoprice.com, partsexpress.com or Radio Shack.
     
  3. Phil A

    Phil A Producer
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2000
    Messages:
    3,123
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Central FL
    Real Name:
    Phil
  4. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,281
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
    Do you have a coax digital input? Then buy an optical to coax converter from MonoPrice for $12. I've also seen optical switches as part of a more expensive component video switch. Monoprice sells a manual switch for $7.

    -Robert
     
  5. Tim_Stack

    Tim_Stack Second Unit

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2003
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Or just use a coax cable. I generally like the sound better.
     
  6. zeetal003

    zeetal003 Extra

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2007
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    please welcome.........................
     

Share This Page