What's new

Projectors- set me off! / CRT's? (1 Viewer)

JohnCo

Auditioning
Hi all. I'm new here and would like first of to all say thanks for having me on as a new member! I've already learned quite a lot perusing this forum.

I work as a sound-designer and have done a number of independent short and feature length films and videos. My project studio currently uses a Sony Trinitron 27" television for video playback, placed right behind the (rather large) mixing console, thereby blocking the glass that looks out into the studio area. It works just fine except it's a real pain moving the television out of the way for sessions that don't require it, so that it doesn't block our view into the studio area. I'm thinking a projector with a motorized screen is a good solution, as it can be rolled up and out of sight when not in use, and I can perhaps get a slightly larger image out of it. Being new to projector technology, however, I have many questions and don't want to make a dumb mistake.

I plan to position the screen about 6' in front of the mixing area, with the projector almost directly over my head (a distance of perhaps 6'-8' from the screen). I don't need a huge image, I'd be real happy with 40". I'm concerned that the fan noise of the projector will be an issue in a quiet studio with the projector directly over my head, maybe 1 foot or so behind me (ceilings are low, only about 7'6"). How loud are the current projectors? What's the quietest (sp?)? How much heat do they put off? Though it won't be used used daily (and often only a few times a month), it is likely that it will run for 8-10 hours or more in a single day.