problem with input sound

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by alcs, Dec 30, 2010.

  1. alcs

    alcs Auditioning

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    hello everyone, i just bought a coby dvd home theater 600 watts, the problem is that when i plug the computer to the input it only sounds 2 speaker out of five, the subwoofer does not sound neither... help me please
     
  2. mikeabt

    mikeabt Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    What happens when you play a DVD? Do you get sound from all speakers?


    Are you sure that the computer source is 5.1 discrete? If the source was stereo on the computer, then you will receive a 2-channel output?


    Also, you probably need to check to make sure that the receiver of the system is switched to multi-channel play-back.
     
  3. alcs

    alcs Auditioning

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    hello, when i play dvd os cd music works on all speakers but after i pluged the computer the cd music now works on 2 speakers!
     
  4. mikeabt

    mikeabt Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    My guess is that when you select the input that coincides with the computer that is limiting the processing to only a 2-channel format. Don't know Coby stuff, but I think that if you assign the input appropriately, you can get multi-channel playback.


    Look into the Coby manual to see about assignment of input's.

    I just looked at page 27 of your manual - it looks like you can play a 5 channel playback by toggling the A-mode button on the remote during playback. Are you sending a two plug red/white from the computer or do you have a digital coax connecting your computer to the system? Make sure you are setting properly here as well - look at the source selection on page 24.


    One thing about the CD music playing, if you are not playing SACD's (multi-channel encoded, hi-fidelity discs) then you are contributing only a 2-channel feed that is being processed as a "5 channel stereo" type output. You are not getting discrete sound like you get on a digital discrete multi-channel source with DVD's. Both DVD and CD's go through the default settings since the device is on board the receiver.
     
  5. alcs

    alcs Auditioning

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    hello and thanksthe a-mode button resolved the problem cds and dvds are in 5 channel , but the computer stills working in 2 channel.. im using an white and red cable to the hometheater and to the is green
     
  6. mikeabt

    mikeabt Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2010
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    The fact that this is an "outside source", not the on-board DVD or CD. I assume that is why you will need to go through page 24 to make sure that the incoming signal is able to process in. The fact that this source is 2-channel, may preclude it form 5-channel playback.


    After you follow the instructions on P. 24, then toggle the A-mode button on the remote.


    If this does not produce a 5-channel output, I would suggest contacting the support group at Coby.


    Good Luck.
     
  7. alcs

    alcs Auditioning

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    THANK YOU FOR ALL THE HELP
     

Share This Page