What's new

Polk RM-7200 vs ? (1 Viewer)

SteveCH

Auditioning
Hi there. This is my first post so bear with me. I recently bought the Polks from CC, as an open box, for $680. Although I like the speakers for movies, I am not sure about the sub. I am a newbie to subs and this one has some noises that concern me. Even with the volume of the sub at half, it seems to be overdriven fairly easily. It will start to rattle loudly until I turn the bass input to flat & loudness off. I toggle on the loudness during movies and off with cd's and such to give the sound I like. When I forget to turn off the loudness is when I have the most problem.

There is also a slight rattle that is audible when I turn the mains off and just listen to the sub. It appears to coincide with the speaker movement. Not really noticeable with the mains on.

Sound of the rest of the system seems ok for movies, though I alternate between being satisfied and then NOT satisfied with music on them.

I can still return the set thanks to the 30 day stuff at CC. Is there a better system (wife wants small) for the money? Example: I see that CC is sale pricing the Infinity HTS-20 system for $300, with a 12-in sub, with many favorable reviews on their site.

Thanks in advance,
Steve

Wayne A. Pflughaupt

Premium
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Wayne
That certainly was a great deal, Steve – more than half off list!

The problem is, Polk subs are the bottom feeders of subs – low-powered, small diameter drivers. Yours for instance, 8” @100 watts. That’s good for maybe a “bedroom theater,” but if you have it out in the family room, fuhgetaboutit.

The Infinity set is not nearly the bargain the Polks were. Looking at the specs it appears the Polks have a better tweeter, for on thing, so I wouldn’t expect them to sound as good overall as the Polks. The Infinity sub might be marginally better, but once again, if you’re using this in a large room, a 150-watt 10” won’t cut it either.