What's new

Please help with my subwoofer (1 Viewer)

MichelleH

Auditioning
I have a JVC home theater system with a powered subwoofer. The problem i have is when watching a DVD the subwoofer powers off and on constantly when people are talking. I understand somewhat that there is now signal to keep it on but this just doesn't seem right. I tried to watch Bloodwork and it clicked off and on so much it wasn't worth watching.Please help!!!! I am new to all of this!!

keir

Stunt Coordinator
my advice is to just use always on. theres probably a switch somewhere that has auto and on settings. i have my sub set to always on because i had the same problem.

MichelleH

Auditioning
Could you please tell me where this setting could be?? I have checked everything I can think of but have never come across a always on switch.

keir

Stunt Coordinator
if there was a switch, it would be on the back of the subwoofer and pretty easy to find.

now that i reread your post, are you saying that the subwoofer turns itself off and on pretty rapidly? because if it was a problem with the auto switch, it wouldnt turn off unless there was no bass for something like 7 minutes. it wouldnt be switching back and forth.

MichelleH

Auditioning
I checked the back and there is no switch. And yes it does switch back and forth rapidly. It will switch off and on 5 times in a minute.

Jose G

Supporting Actor
It sounds like you sub is not working properly or there is a possible faulty connection somewhere in your power line or sub cable/wire. Check for this first. Is this sub part of a mini system? The wires that come with some of these units are not very good a lot of the time.

MichelleH

Auditioning
I'm not sure what you mean by a mini system. It was connected with the cable that came with it but I had to buy another one to connect to reach the other side of the room.