Please help. I can't get surround sound for TV or Satelite .

Discussion in 'Beginners, General Questions' started by leoniey, Oct 2, 2012.

  1. leoniey

    leoniey Auditioning

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have connected my sound system to my TV but I cannot get surround sound when I want to watch TV or use my Satelite.
    When I watch Blu Ray discs and normal DVD's the surround sound works.
    I have connected an Optical Digital Audio Cable as well as the standard audio cables. The HDMI cable is connected to the TV in one end and the other is in the OUT port that says (ARC AV OUT) underneath.
    If it helps my TV is a Panasonic Plasma TV (Viera) ST50A series, TH-P65ST58
    The sound system is a Panasonic Blu-Ray Disck Home Theatre Sound System, SC-BTT790
     
  2. Type A

    Type A HW Reviewer
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2007
    Messages:
    800
    Likes Received:
    44
    Location:
    Portland Oregon
    Real Name:
    Ty
    Welcome to the forum :)
    Not all channels or programming will be in surround sound. I would disconnect the standard audio cables for now and just use the optical input, this will ensure that you have the correct cable when surround sound is available. Did you verify your cable box is set up to output surround sound? Did you read your Panasonic Home Theater Sound System owners manual, specifically page 37?
     
  3. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,105
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    Since you bought a HTiB you only have one optical port.
    You'll never have 5.1 off the satellite anyway since no TV(anymore that I've seen) outputs 5.1 from any source other than its own tuner.
    Also, you have to TURN ON Dolby Digital in the TV to get 5.1 off the tuner for OTA.
    Otherwise you have to use DPL in your HTiB, if it has DPL.
     
  4. leoniey

    leoniey Auditioning

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks! I got it working now :)
     
  5. schan1269

    schan1269 HTF Expert
    HW Reviewer

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2012
    Messages:
    17,105
    Likes Received:
    898
    Location:
    Chicago-ish/NW Indiana
    Real Name:
    Sam
    By the way, if you get tired of 2.0 off your sat box...
    http://www.amazon.com/Cables-Go-28734-Explorer-Selector/dp/B0002OF2FC/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1349179700&sr=1-1&keywords=toslink+switch
     
  6. Ed Moxley

    Ed Moxley Cinematographer

    Joined:
    May 25, 2003
    Messages:
    2,701
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Eastern NC
    Real Name:
    Ed
    Lots of shows broadcast in 5.1 surround. I think most of them are on the networks (ABC, CBS, NBC, FOX, PBS) and premium channels (HBO, Starz, etc.).
    You need to make sure the sat box is set to output audio as "Dolby Digital".
     

Share This Page