What's new

Playstation 3 Rumors (1 Viewer)

Michael G Jones

Stunt Coordinator
Is there any rumors on a new playstation 3 or other units going into production? ie. the 60gb.....

? Just curious, What are ppl storing on the harddrives?

pitchman

Screenwriter
Real Name
Gary
I'm a PS3 newbie. I bought an 80 gig MGS4 bundle. I only have 4 games at this point installed on the hard drive (MGS4, GTAIV, Rock Band and Uncharted) and I was rather shocked to see that I currently only have around 56 gig free. If these games are "typical," even with 80 gig, I can see me running out of space sooner than I would like.

BrianB

Senior HTF Member
That's often the case, Michael, yes. It's easy to remove the installed space and the next time you play the game you'll have to install it again. Some games handle it without really telling you what it's doing, others explicitly say they're installing to the harddrive etc.

Michael G Jones

Stunt Coordinator
interesting....I'll have to do a little more research on the PS3. For one, since I have a good little library of PS2 games, should I go for the 80gb and have some backward playback or just settle for the 40gb and keep the ps2 hooked up. I would like to keep my av setup relatively clean, just the satellite receiver and the ps3. I figure from time to time I can just hook up the ps2 and xbox when the need arises to play.

Aaron Silverman

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Aaron Silverman
You can look up the game compatibility somewhere online since I don't think the 80 gb machine is 100% backwards compatible. If your PS2 games aren't all compatible then you might want to keep the PS2 hooked up either way.

Michael G Jones

Stunt Coordinator