Playing Guitar Hero - does adding a receiver add lag?

Discussion in 'Gaming' started by Ray Ruggaurs, Jun 1, 2009.

  1. Ray Ruggaurs

    Ray Ruggaurs Agent

    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi everyone! Playing Guitar Hero (ps3) via HDMI connected directly to the TV. I'm thinking of upgrading to a receiver to improve the sound ( =) Jaming to real speakers instead of the TV's!)

    I'm worried about input lag (the delay due to video processing after the TV signal leaves the console)

    Has any one experienced lag when they play their console via a receiver? My set up would be:

    PS3 --HDMI--> Receiver --HDMI--> TV

    Thanks for your comments
     
  2. TonyTone

    TonyTone Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    728
    Likes Received:
    0
    I don't have GH for PS3 but IIRC I'm pretty sure the game has a setting which allows you to calibrate for audio lag.
     
  3. Aaron Silverman

    Aaron Silverman Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 22, 1999
    Messages:
    10,701
    Likes Received:
    560
    Location:
    Florida
    Real Name:
    Aaron Silverman
    Yep. All the musical instrument games let you calibrate for lag. The lag appears to be somewhat dependent on one's specific equipment.
     
  4. Greg_R

    Greg_R Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2000
    Messages:
    1,998
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Portland, OR
    Real Name:
    Greg
    ... and yes, it does add noticeable lag. You will need to recalibrate the game.
     
  5. Ray Ruggaurs

    Ray Ruggaurs Agent

    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the replies everyone!


    Oh - that's not good. At least for GH3 there's compensation.

    Anyway to reduce the lag? What about if the receiver has a pass-through option?
     
  6. Morgan Jolley

    Morgan Jolley Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    8,510
    Likes Received:
    82
    Does your receiver have an optical input? If so, you can use the HDMI->TV for video and Optical->Receiver for audio since the PS3 has both ports and these settings can be changed on the XMB. This is what I do so that I don't have lag in any games. You can recalibrate Guitar Hero and Rock Band, but you can't recalibrate any other PS3 games (ok, maybe you can do Rock Revolution, but you get my point).
     
  7. Ray Ruggaurs

    Ray Ruggaurs Agent

    Joined:
    May 16, 2003
    Messages:
    35
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks!
    I may have to do that.
    I was hoping to be able to use the PS3 to play some blu-rays on a high-def sound since i cant do that with optical
     
  8. Morgan Jolley

    Morgan Jolley Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2000
    Messages:
    8,510
    Likes Received:
    82
    Why can't you play blu-rays with 5.1 sound with optical?
     
  9. Jeff Cooper

    Jeff Cooper Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2000
    Messages:
    1,426
    Likes Received:
    92
    I wouldn't think automatically that you're going to have lag just because someone on here posted that they do.

    It really depends on what receiver and tv you are using.

    I have a PS3 -> HDMI -> Denon AVR-2807 -> HDMI -> Optoma 70 Front projector, and have zero lag. I have never needed to do any in game lag calibration and it works perfectly.
     
  10. Yee-Ming

    Yee-Ming Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2002
    Messages:
    4,357
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    "on a little street in Singapore"
    Real Name:
    Yee Ming Lim
    I have lag as well; FWIW I have a Marantz SR8002, and a Pioneer KRP500A (not sure what the equivalent US model is, one of the 9th gen Elites obviously).


    You can play 5.1, but not 5.1 hi-def, which is what Ray was referring to. Hi def audio can only be transmitted via HDMI (or as six discrete analog signals), not via optical. If optical is the connector, you'd only get 'dumbed down' regular Dolby or DTS, not Dolby True HD nor DTS-MA.
     

Share This Page