What's new

Planning my theatre, need a projector (1 Viewer)

JoshGivens

Stunt Coordinator
I'm trying to get everything lined out for my theater now so I'll be ready (as much as possible) when the building gets started in a couple weeks.

Here's a post about the specifics of the room:

http://www.hometheaterforum.com/htfo...hreadid=219092

I'm looking for a projector that will give me the best HD picture for under $2500. This is how much I've budgeted to spend and I'm pretty new to the front projection market so your help will be greatly appreciated.

John S

Senior HTF Member
Do you at least have a preference on technology?

Lots of good projectors in your price range. Hard to narrow it down. What projectors have you viewed and liked in person?

JoshGivens

Stunt Coordinator
Well, let me say this. I'm looking at about a 110" screen, preferrably. I've been told by a friend of mind that the new HD DLP projectors are producing some really good pictures now and have less of the SD problem that they were known for in the past. I just want the best picture quality for the money.

He has the Panasonic LCD 600 model I think.

John S

Senior HTF Member
I'll let the DLP fans chime in on this one. I'm an LCD fan. The AE900 has a big fan base here. I went with a relative cheapie LCD HD and I am very happy with it.

Best is not enough to go on. Lots of different opinions on what is best. If you like your friends LCD, maybe stick with LCD.

Displays / display technologies are mostly about different trade offs. You have to decide which trade offs matter most to you.

JoshGivens

Stunt Coordinator
He just upgraded to the AE900 but I haven't been over to check it out yet. I haven't actually seen any new DLP's so I'm leaning toward the LCD's based on what I've seen but hopefully I'll get to demo one somewhere before I go that route.

JoshGivens

Stunt Coordinator