Pioneer vsx-74txvi

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Corey-Reid, Sep 6, 2005.

1. Corey-Reid

Corey-Reid Stunt Coordinator

Just ordered the new pioneer elite 74txvi yesterday, will be in on Thursday. This is replacing a Yamaha rxv-2090.
    I cant wit to get this thing in and see what it sonuds like.

Ill post my impressions shortly after I get it.

2. Corey-Reid

Well I got the Pionner up and running.
    I am no expert in home audio, so keep that in mind.

I was able to get through the setup procedure with the new MCACC pretty easy. I have an energy es10 sub, and the MCACC flashed a screen that said the sub was to loud and to turn it down. Once I got it to the acceptable level for the auto calibration, it was wayyyyyy too low IMO.

I have a Boston vr10 center, Boston cr6s in the rear and a set of Kenwood 3 ways with 2 12 in woofers in them for the mains. I literally could not tell I had a sub withthe level it was set at.

Speakers were set at large fronts, and small for all others. With my old setup, the subs input gain was at about 3 or 4, It is now up to 7 or 8, cant remember. If I left it at 5 and played my AC/dc live at donnington in 5.1, I couldnt even here any real bass in the music.

After going to the manual speaker setup, I set the sub at -40db from the -60db it was at. That was much more to my liking.

In my master plan, new speakers were always at the top of my list, that just changed after listening to the Pioneer.

My Kenwoods sound like a new set of speakers. Im assuming this is due to the MCACC, but it now sounds as if I also just added new speakers to my system.