What's new

parasound hca -2205a (1 Viewer)

William Kaltenbach

Auditioning
Hello community! My Name is Bill from Parker colorado and I'm a newbie when it comes to the higher end of home theater. My first question is this: I recently got a hold of a parasound hca -2205a 5 ch amplifier which is a big Step up from the kind of components I have now.Problem is that I am running a 7.1 3d setup now Sony str-dh845 reciever, re-coned infinity 102s in front, klipsch rsx-4s on the sides and rear and a dynaudio front channel in a 15 x 15 theatre's room. To make this work I need a new reciever with preouts and a two channel ampliflier.Am I chasing the rabbit by getting these new components to make the parasound fit in? Is this way too much for the speakers that I have? Meaning I need to buy a while new speaker setup too?I am very happy with my current setup but I'm getting a little greedy reading about these theaters. Can I invest in just the components or do I need to upgrade the speakers also to make it work?I'm thinking about selling it and just keeping what I have.I look forward to hearing your experienced opinions about this topic.

William Kaltenbach

Auditioning
That is what I'm afraid of, spending 1-2K on new speakers in addition to to the extra components I need to power them seems like an expense I am not prepared for. I feel like a chihuahua chewing on a cow femur. The AVR /w preouts seems like the way to go because otherwise wouldn't I still need a reciever? In addition to the pre-pro? I'm not sure my Sony would work with this new set up.

schan1269

HTF Expert
HW Reviewer
Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Sam