Parallels RC2 (Build 3150) Released

Discussion in 'Apple' started by Michael_K_Sr, Feb 5, 2007.

  1. Michael_K_Sr

    Michael_K_Sr Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Chicago 'burbs
    Real Name:
    MichaelK
    Parallels put out its latest build of its Desktop for Mac software is out and better than ever! A whole slew of features have been improved upon, but for me the best part is the completely integrated drag and drop functionality it now has. Transferring files back and forth between the Mac and PC environments has never been easier. And if you haven't tried Parallels yet, you can download a free 30 day trial. [​IMG]
     
  2. Michael_K_Sr

    Michael_K_Sr Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Chicago 'burbs
    Real Name:
    MichaelK
  3. Carlo Medina

    Carlo Medina Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 1997
    Messages:
    10,392
    Likes Received:
    606
    Wow, they've done a great job addressing a lot of the issues. If they ever get the 3D support, I'm going to have to buy it immediately.
     
  4. Andrew Pratt

    Andrew Pratt Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 1998
    Messages:
    3,813
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you tried it yet Michael? I plan on installing it this weekend.
     
  5. Steve Tannehill

    Steve Tannehill Ambassador

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 1997
    Messages:
    5,550
    Likes Received:
    214
    Location:
    DFW
    Real Name:
    Steve Tannehill
    Still does not work with my USB i1 Pro... [​IMG]

    - Steve
     
  6. Steven Simon

    Steven Simon Producer

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 1998
    Messages:
    3,284
    Likes Received:
    7
    Real Name:
    Steven Simon
    What I need is my Universal Remotes to work within parallels. They are USB devices... Anyone here running Parallels and a Universal Remote product?
     
  7. Andrew Pratt

    Andrew Pratt Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 1998
    Messages:
    3,813
    Likes Received:
    0
    My pronto didn't work with the previous release. I could author edits etc but would need to boot into BootCamp in order to download to the pronto via USB.
     
  8. Michael_K_Sr

    Michael_K_Sr Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Chicago 'burbs
    Real Name:
    MichaelK

    Same here, Andrew.
     
  9. Andrew Pratt

    Andrew Pratt Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 1998
    Messages:
    3,813
    Likes Received:
    0
    I just installed RC3 and just uploaded my PCF file from my pronto in parallels so it seems things have improved in this release. ProntoEdit was the only reason I installed BootCamp as I wasn't able to connect to the pronto in the VM version but now that's not a problem which is great...no more rebooting.
     
  10. TonyD

    TonyD Who do we think I am?
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 1999
    Messages:
    17,068
    Likes Received:
    367
    Location:
    Disney World and Universal Florida
    Real Name:
    Tony D.
    so, in a nutshell, and for dummies(me) what does this do and what would i need for this to be useful.

    i plan on buying a macbook this week.
    i have a desktop with winxp.

    would this paralles do anything for me?
    would i have to buy an additional windows vista to install on the macbook.
     
  11. Andrew Pratt

    Andrew Pratt Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 1998
    Messages:
    3,813
    Likes Received:
    0
    Tony if you want to run Windows o any sort on your new MacBook you have two choices. 1) Use Apples BootCamp and simply dual boot between OS X or Windows. This means that once you've installed Windows when ever you boot you can hold down the Alt key and you'll be given a menu asking which OS you want to boot into. Option 2) uses parallels to give you the option to launch Windows like you would an application within OS X itself. This means that you can boot as you normally do into OS X and if you need a windows application simply click the windows icon in parallels and windows will boot in a new window. You can then run both Windows and OSX at the same time. There's a host of options available to you like maximizing the windows window to full screen and you can drag and drop files between the two OS's etc. There's also now the option to install BootCamp and then have the Parallels software use that copy of Windows to launch giving you the option to either run Windows natively at boot or to run it virtually in parallels depending on your needs which is how I currently have it set up on my MBP.

    Basically if you have a windows app that you can't find a Mac alternative then either BootCamp and or Parallels is something you're likely going to want to purchase.
     
  12. TonyD

    TonyD Who do we think I am?
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 1999
    Messages:
    17,068
    Likes Received:
    367
    Location:
    Disney World and Universal Florida
    Real Name:
    Tony D.
    ok i was just reading a review of parallels and read this.....


    "If you just bought a Mac and are retiring an old PC, you can transfer Windows (plus programs and data) from that old computer to the Mac using a new migration tool called Parallels Transporter. You'll have to connect a cable to both machines. Parallels says to check licensing agreements to make sure you can legally transfer the PC's version of Windows to another machine."

    has anyone done this .
    i need more info.
    this sounds like an ideal plan for me if it really can be done.
     
  13. Michael_K_Sr

    Michael_K_Sr Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,358
    Likes Received:
    26
    Location:
    Chicago 'burbs
    Real Name:
    MichaelK
    I've used Transporter to migrate my old XP drive image that I had in Virtual PC into Parallels. Worked like a charm. Couldn't believe how easy it was.
     
  14. TonyD

    TonyD Who do we think I am?
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 1999
    Messages:
    17,068
    Likes Received:
    367
    Location:
    Disney World and Universal Florida
    Real Name:
    Tony D.
    well i downloaded the free trial.
    guess i'll see if it works.

    hmm, i wonder if the free trial allows transport.

    oh its only $63 at amazon right now.
     
  15. JohnRice

    JohnRice Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 20, 2000
    Messages:
    8,813
    Likes Received:
    204
    Real Name:
    John
    I have to say, the latest release (3188) sure is a vast improvement from the version I was running. Most of the time I was not able to select or deselct printers and all of a sudden the Parallels window decided to be bigger than the resolution of the monitor, and no matter of looking seemed to find a solution. The resizable window (now, how basic is that to NOT have been there?) and drag-and-drop are basic things which were missing.
     
  16. Ronald Epstein

    Ronald Epstein Administrator
    Owner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1997
    Messages:
    46,423
    Likes Received:
    4,360
    Real Name:
    Ronald Epstein
    I was a huge Parallels user when I first got my Mac Pro in
    January, but have slowly weened off of it to the point I rarely
    use it anymore.

    I have found all the programs I need for my Mac that seem to
    be equal or better to their Windows counterparts.

    That being said, I have a lot of respect for Parallels. It is a
    remarkable program -- one responsible for many PC owners
    switching over to Mac. In time, probably this year, we should
    see full support for high-intensity graphics including Windows
    Vista Aero.
     
  17. TonyD

    TonyD Who do we think I am?
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 1999
    Messages:
    17,068
    Likes Received:
    367
    Location:
    Disney World and Universal Florida
    Real Name:
    Tony D.
    ron what dvd list software do you use/

    i like profiler but not an option on mac.
    i still have my desktop but would like to use it on mac.
    your dvd profile link in your sig doesnt go anywhere.
     
  18. Andrew Pratt

    Andrew Pratt Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 1998
    Messages:
    3,813
    Likes Received:
    0
    I rarely boot my copy of XP in parallels either now that I'm more familar with OS X and the suite of tools I have installed. There's still the odd app that's better (easier for me) in XP but I'll just use my wifes Dull machine for that app rather then bother booting XP on my MBP.
     
  19. Ronald Epstein

    Ronald Epstein Administrator
    Owner

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1997
    Messages:
    46,423
    Likes Received:
    4,360
    Real Name:
    Ronald Epstein
    Tony,

    I still use DVDProfiler, and alas, one of the few reasons why I use
    Parallels to access Windows. Have not found anything as good, and
    if I did, there is still a problem of over 2,000 DVD titles I wouldn't
    readily be able to import over.

    The reason why my Profiler link goes nowhere is because the
    DVDPROFILER website just went through a major overhaul. I
    need to reinstall the newest version of the software and upload
    all my information to a new location. That will take a few days.
     
  20. TonyD

    TonyD Who do we think I am?
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 1999
    Messages:
    17,068
    Likes Received:
    367
    Location:
    Disney World and Universal Florida
    Real Name:
    Tony D.
    well i was trying the free, trial of parallels.
    when i attempted to see how it works it tells me i nned the transporter installed on both computers.

    if the main is a pc, how do i get transporter on the pc.
    there isnt anything at the para web site that indicates a pc version.

    what am i missing
     

Share This Page