Oppo BDP-83...I'm not getting subtitles on DVD

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Hans M., Feb 20, 2010.

  1. Hans M.

    Hans M. Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2003
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    I tried to watch the Grand Illusion last night on DVD on my Oppo BDP-83, but the subtitles would not come on. I press the subtitle button on the remote, it shows English subtitles are selected but they do not appear on the screen. I go back to the main menu on the DVD and select subtitles that way, and they still do not appear. I only recently bought this player, and did the firmware update just last week. Anyone else have this issue and can share a fix?
     
  2. gene c

    gene c Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2003
    Messages:
    5,842
    Likes Received:
    47
    Location:
    Bay area, Ca
    Real Name:
    Gene
    I think it has to do with how the sound is transfered from the player. I remenber reading something about this issue quite a while ago and I don't think subtitles are available thru Bitstream on BR discs since the player isn't doing the decoding. Try changing from Bitstream to LPCM in the OPPO's main setup menu and see if it works. But your receiver must be capable of accepting LPCM which I think most 1.3 receivers are.
     
  3. Leo Kerr

    Leo Kerr Screenwriter

    Joined:
    May 10, 1999
    Messages:
    1,699
    Likes Received:
    0
    that shouldn't effect the subtitle display.

    What mode is the player in, and what mode is the display in? If someone is zooming things, then they might be 'off sceen' -- particularly if the display is in some sort of expansion mode.

    The closest I had was the Oppo not showing the "display" stuff, but it was when I had a non-anamorphic content being blown-up by the projector.

    Leo
     
  4. Hans M.

    Hans M. Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2003
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just to let you all know that I finally figured this out. Seems by default the Oppo comes out of the box with the subtitles a bit low on the screen. There was a firmware upgrade to allow you to hold down the subtitle button and then adjust how they are displayed by pressing the direction controls to move them up higher on the screen.
     
  5. Gary Padgett

    Gary Padgett Auditioning

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2004
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    I discovered the same thing by accident. It seems on the OPPO they are about five remote clicks too low. Now they look fine on my 55" display.
     
  6. Chris Bedard

    Chris Bedard Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 1999
    Messages:
    70
    Likes Received:
    0
    The above posters are correct. You can also access the Oppo menu's to adjust the display height of subtitles. It's set at -5 by default (not sure why). Set it to zero and you should be fine.
     
  7. John Garcia

    John Garcia Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 1999
    Messages:
    11,576
    Likes Received:
    24
    Location:
    NorCal
    Real Name:
    John
    Do you have the latest firmware? If you install that (1224 official release) when you reset to factory defaults, it will set them to zero. I noticed that with some of the other versions, setting it to zero without setting to defaults would NOT adjust the level of the subtitles correctly. I found this out with the District 9 BD.
     
  8. AdamG2

    AdamG2 New User

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    1
    Real Name:
    Adam
    I had on odd subtitle issue with 2012 BD the other day. The first issue I have ever had with the player. They were too low on the screen, and trying to raise them through the menu had no impact. Power cycling the Oppo fixed it. When it happened (approx 2 weeks ago) I was on the lateset FW at the time.
     
  9. Ted Todorov

    Ted Todorov Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2000
    Messages:
    2,960
    Likes Received:
    22
    OK, this is what must have been happening to A Prophet Blu-ray -- we were seeing like one subtitle for every 5 lines of dialog -- probably getting stuff that was higher up on the screen...



    Does this change stay permanent or do you have to do it for every disc?
     

Share This Page