Onkyo TX-SR605 Receiver?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by ronKi, Jan 11, 2008.

  1. ronKi

    ronKi Agent

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thinking about buying Onkyo sr605 reciever. I have a toshiba a3 hd dvd player that does not have analog connections only hdmi. My hdtv is a panasonic that has 1080i component connections only. Can i process the Hd sound (dolby+,dolby truhd, dts hd) via hdmi connection and still send the video through the component cable from the hd player and still get the 1080i picture?
     
  2. JohnW

    JohnW Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 1998
    Messages:
    53
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, that'll work. You'll just need to hook up both HDMI and component video cables from A3 to the receiver and assign the proper HDMI and component to the same input you select on the receiver (DVD, for example).

    I have both the 605 and A3. While I do use hdmi to connect to my TV, I tried it out by disconnecting hdmi and using a component video cable to hook up to the TV. It worked.

    Cheers. [​IMG]
     
  3. Dan Hitchman

    Dan Hitchman Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 1999
    Messages:
    2,713
    Likes Received:
    0
    It'll work... just don't get the 605, get at least the 705. Not much more (on the internet) and it has some good additional features, not fluff, and a better amp section.

    Dan
     
  4. ronKi

    ronKi Agent

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for you help. I did order the 605 ( 705 was over $200.00 more and does not fit in my budget right now).
    Will we get the actual truhd and dtshd sound via Hdmi or is it downloaded to pcm? Kinda confused by the no hd player is capable of sending the audio format as of yet?
     
  5. Patrick Sun

    Patrick Sun Moderator
    Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1999
    Messages:
    38,644
    Likes Received:
    419
    Wasn't there rumblings of lip-sync issues with the 705 and 805, but not so with the 605?
     
  6. troy evans

    troy evans Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    1,294
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes you will. It'll be LPCM. When you send the signal bitsream over HDMI it'll read "multi channel" on the receiver. You may need to make some setting changes between the HD player and receiver, but, after that you'll love it. I have the 605 myself and consider it one of the best purchases I've made for my home theater system.
     
  7. ronKi

    ronKi Agent

    Joined:
    May 19, 2006
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the response. I'm really looking forward to connecting and playing my hd disc's to their full potential sound wise.[​IMG]
    Ron
     
  8. Jeff Gatie

    Jeff Gatie Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    6,531
    Likes Received:
    15

    Nothing is "downloaded to pcm". Multichannel PCM is the final product in the decoding of TrueHD/DD+. There is nothing inferior or "downconverted" about PCM, it is the standard uncompressed audio format used in all receivers/players. In your particular case (A3/605 combo), the decoding of TrueHD/DD+ will take place in the player and the 5.1 PCM is sent to the 605. In the case of the XA2/A35 players, you also have the option of sending the raw, undecoded TrueHD/DD+/DTS-HD to the Onkyo and have the Onkyo decode the audio to PCM.

    Please note that in the above that unlike the Dolby HD audio formats, DTS-HD/MA audio cannot be decoded by any players at this time. Instead, the player decodes the standard DTS "core" and sends that instead. The only way to get full DTS-HD/MA is to use the XA2/A35 to send it to the receiver for decoding. But also note there are very, very few domestic HD DVD's that use DTS-HD, it is mostly used on imports.
     
  9. Ensign Eddie

    Ensign Eddie Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    6

    Can component video handle the HDMI handshake? I know that when I play CDs on my A2 through the 705 (via HDMI) I have to have the TV on long enough for the handshake to be made. Otherwise, the sound pops in and out every few seconds. I DO NOT know if HD soundtracks require this, but I would be surprised if they didn't. Hopefully someone that knows for sure can chime in here.
     
  10. Jeff Gatie

    Jeff Gatie Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    6,531
    Likes Received:
    15

    Component doesn't do any handshaking. If the receiver is only connected to the player via HDMI, and not the TV, the only handshaking will be between the receiver and the player. If would be as if the TV is not even there as far as HDMI is concerned.
     
  11. Ensign Eddie

    Ensign Eddie Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2006
    Messages:
    165
    Likes Received:
    6
    Ah, are you saying that, since a TV isn't connected (not just turned off) via HDMI to the receiver, that the receiver doesn't require the video handshake? That makes a certain amount of sense.

    I didn't want to unduly scare anyone. I truly wasn't sure and wanted to make sure the OP had all the information.

    EDIT: Sorry, Jeff. I just re-read your response and realized that this IS what you said. Sorry, I'm a bit thick this morning.
     
  12. Bopicasso

    Bopicasso Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I bought a onk 605 two weeks ago and Im selling it. There is definately some lipsinging going on with video and I dont like how it sounds when listening to music. The speakers are polk rti6 and polk csi3. It almost sounds like a slight crackle sound at high volumes. I cant help but pay attention to it so I dont listen to music until I get my new HK avr 347.
     
  13. troy evans

    troy evans Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    1,294
    Likes Received:
    0
    Where did you buy this 2 weeks ago that you can't just return it if there's a problem or you just don't care for it? Most stores and online retailers will take it back and refund or replace or substitute for a different receiver if you so choose. Are you getting full or better value than you paid by selling it? If not I would suggest taking it back. Get back your money.
     
  14. Rogozhin

    Rogozhin Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2003
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    0
    It doesn't have preamp-outs.

    Rogo
     
  15. Bopicasso

    Bopicasso Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2008
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    I bought it off amazon for 379.99. There return policy is 80% if opened and I will have to pay for shipping. I feel that I am better off selling it. Plus I already purchased a new avr from harmanaudio on ebay. A 347 refurb for 381. So if I could get close to what I paid out of the onk I would consider it ok. I plan on putting it on ebay and craigslist. I want to sell it for around 370-380 because it is still brand new.
     
  16. troy evans

    troy evans Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2005
    Messages:
    1,294
    Likes Received:
    0
    You should have no problem selling it. People love bargains on the internet.
     

Share This Page