What's new

Onkyo TX-SR600 A/V Receiver - Anyone know anything about it? (1 Viewer)

DavidVTHokie

Stunt Coordinator
EDIT: Disregard - found a good thread below that makes it appear this is a receiver to be avoided.

I'm looking for a review. It seems to have a lot of features at a great price, but I have no experience with the brand. Also, please comment on Onkyo A/V receivers in general. How does it compare to say H/K 320?

Paul_Fisher

Screenwriter
I would say the H/K is a much better receiver overall. I believe H/K under-rates their power, and we all know the power issues with the Onkyo.

Onkyo receivers are good in general, but there are alot of people upset that it only delivers around 28 watts of power in 5 channel mode. There are threads here that cover this.

I've never had an Onkyo, I have a Marantz, but most people seem to like their Onkyos.

JordanW

Grip
I have an Onkyo TX-DS575x, and could not be happier. I've had it since around the time it hit the shelves, and have had no regrets at all. The 575 seems to deliver as much power as is needed for my Definitive Tech BP8's and ProSub100. Unlike other receivers I compared it to, it delivers the power very consistently instead of varying the power all the time. The 595 also kept up Onkyo's good name with basically the same performance as my 575. The 600 still seems to be a DECENT receiver, but does not even compare to the 575/595. The only benefits are the addition of component switching and a rear center. You even lose a digital coax input with the 600. If you like the sound of the Onkyo's, look for a surplus 595 somewhere or spend a little extra money and find a 797. I have done side-by-side comparisons with a lot of H/K receivers, but still prefer the sound (at least for home theater) of the Onkyo's better. Good luck finding the right receiver.

-- Jordan

Brajesh Upadhyay

Supporting Actor