What's new

Onkyo HT-S760 Question (1 Viewer)

MikeGD

Auditioning
Hi,

I'm a HT noob who recently purchased an Onkyo HT-S760 HTIB system, which comes with the HT-R510 receiver. I haven't set up the system yet, as I'm waiting for delivery of a new television, a Toshiba 32AF43, on Saturday.

I would like to connect to my TV in such a way as to permit playback of analog cable (not everything; primarily music programs like Sound Stage, or other programs where PL II might enhance). The manual for the receiver does not specificly address this hookup. Should I connect to one of the analog inputs on the receiver, e.g., TAPE? Are ordinary audio cables sufficient?

Also, I would be interested in hearing about any other potential pitfalls that should be avoided during setup of this system, or in general.

Thanks,

Mike.

Bill_Wil

Stunt Coordinator
Mike,
Does your receiver have an audio input labeled tv/sat? Thats where I connect the audio cable from my TV. But if yours doesnt have an input labeled tv then you can connect to one of the other audio inputs. Then when you watch TV just make sure you select that other source on the receiver in order to hear sound. And for your other question yes you can just use standard RCA type audio cables.

DarrenChan

Auditioning
MikeGD, fellow bargain hunter huh? I missed the deal for that television over at Amazon. I see that Vanns is selling your HT system for $500, how is it? I'm looking to build my first HT system and though I don't have a limit for the budget, I feel more comfortable with building a low cost HT system first before moving to a full scale system in 2 or 3 years.

MikeGD

Auditioning
Thanks, Bill

My receiver doesn't have a specificially-assigned connection, so I'm going to try the CD input.

Darren,