Older receiver uses optical, newer dvd player doesn't -- a way to bridge this?

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by bgart13, Aug 4, 2009.

  1. bgart13

    bgart13 Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,048
    Likes Received:
    154
    Real Name:
    Ben
    Quick question, and I have a feeling I know the answer but I'll ask anyways. My Sony receiver dates back to about '99 or '00 and to get 5.1 surround sound, it uses an optical cord (little glass bulbs at the end of the cord). The Sony dvd player I had at the time also connected via the optical cord for surround sound, but I had to replace the dvd player a few years back when it went kaput. The replacement is also a Sony but it doesn't use an optical cord for 5.1. I haven't kept up with the technology over the last number of years, but is there a way to bridge this gap and still get 5.1 surround or am SOL?

    Thanks,
    Ben
     
  2. Phil A

    Phil A Producer
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2000
    Messages:
    3,123
    Likes Received:
    30
    Location:
    Central FL
    Real Name:
    Phil
    I assume it has a coax digital output (the DVD player)? If so adapters can be had cheap at places like monoprice.com.
     
  3. bgart13

    bgart13 Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,048
    Likes Received:
    154
    Real Name:
    Ben
    Phil, yes good point. I'm not at home, but I believe that it does have a coaxial output. What you suggested appears to be exactly what I need! Thanks so much!!

    Edited by bgart13 - 8/5/2009 at 04:01 am GMT
     
  4. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,282
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
  5. Stephen Tu

    Stephen Tu Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 1999
    Messages:
    1,573
    Likes Received:
    0
    Robert you pointed to optical to coax, I think the poster said he needs coax to optical:
    http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=104&cp_id=10423&cs_id=1042302&p_id=2947&seq=1&format=2
     
  6. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,282
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
    That's what I get for posting at 6am.
     
  7. Al.Anderson

    Al.Anderson Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2002
    Messages:
    2,532
    Likes Received:
    67
    Real Name:
    Al
    I have to ask ... back then, if a receiver had optical it usually had coax. Does your receiver have a coax output? If it does you gain nothing from using the optical, the coax will provide the same quality sound.
     
  8. bgart13

    bgart13 Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,048
    Likes Received:
    154
    Real Name:
    Ben
    Al, sorry for a late reply. I do not believe that the receiver has a coax input/output for audio.
     
  9. bgart13

    bgart13 Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,048
    Likes Received:
    154
    Real Name:
    Ben
    Tried to post a min ago, so, apologies if it shows up eventually for a double-post... I now have the box and found a cheap cord, but haven't been able to pick up the remaining speakers I need to fill out the 5.1. I think I know the answer, but for you more expert members, how might my receiver process the channels with only two speakes but things hooked up properly otherwise for 5.1?
     
  10. Jesse Skeen

    Jesse Skeen Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 1999
    Messages:
    4,282
    Likes Received:
    192
    Note that you don't need any special cable for a coaxial digital connection- any standard RCA cable will do. I found this out when I bought my receiver 11 years ago and thought you did need a special cable, so I was suckered into buying a $50 short Monster Cable (I thought I needed it for AC3 laserdisc, but only after I got the stuff home did I find out what I really needed was a demodulator), then tried an old RCA cable I had laying around and it did the job just as well.

    Most receivers have setup options that let you use fewer speakers- if you only have 2 set "center" and "rear" to "No" and it will mix all the channels down to 2. Don't know why you'd want to do that though :)
     
  11. Gerald LaFrance

    Gerald LaFrance Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2002
    Messages:
    510
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Earth
    Real Name:
    Gerald LaFrance
    Well if you do Want to use a RCA cable it would be best to use the Yellow (Video) cable as it is 75ohms as the Coax Specs reccomend this rating.. Altho you can use a Regular RCA cable it is just best to use the Yellow one.
     

Share This Page