OK.... so I need to have 3 LNB's and 6 receivers...

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Al_Swanson, Apr 25, 2003.

  1. Al_Swanson

    Al_Swanson Agent

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2001
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK, so I have one of the three lnb dishes(that only has two on it now! One is in the garage waiting to go on!) and I need 6 lines off of it (five distinct receivers and a dual-tuner Tivo box). Right now, I have two lnb's plugged in and four lines off the multiswitch.
    What do I need to get that third lnb in and send it out to 6 receivers? I know a larger multiswitch, but which one? What have y'all done?
    Any help is much appreciated!
     
  2. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,288
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
    I need a little more info before I suggest anything. Is your mutli-switch bolted to the back of the dish or is it integrated into the LNB mounting arm? Is the third LNB from a Sat-C kit or did you just go to Wal-Mart and buy another LNB?

    -Robert
     
  3. Al_Swanson

    Al_Swanson Agent

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2001
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    The current multiswitch is bolted to the back. And the dish was set up for three, came with two and I ordered the last one from Radio Shack (to get Showtime HD).
     
  4. Bill Lucas

    Bill Lucas Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 1999
    Messages:
    530
    Likes Received:
    0
    There are several multiswitches abailable. I'd go with at least a 5 X 8. Spaun makes the best by far but they are $$$. Just do a Google search for satellite multiswitch and you'll get all the information you need.
     
  5. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,288
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
     
  6. Al_Swanson

    Al_Swanson Agent

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2001
    Messages:
    39
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK... now I am beginning to feel stupid. I paid $60 from RS, but I did say the C.
    But there's no 'combiner' with it - or anything else. When I see the 5x8 multiswitches, they appear to have 4 lnb (two from each of the two I have now) plus an antenna. Won't I need 6 lnb inputs plus antenna? If so.... I haven't seen the multiswitch to handle it yet then.
     
  7. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,288
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
     
  8. Mike Rackley

    Mike Rackley Auditioning

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2002
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Robert,

    Good info.

    I have one other question. Are there any particularly stringent cable length restrictions between the lnb's and the multiswitch? The setup I'm considering would have the dish on my chimney and the multiswitch inside the house with about 75 feet of coax between. Is this OK?

    Mike
     
  9. Robert_J

    Robert_J Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2000
    Messages:
    8,288
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Mississippi
    Real Name:
    Robert
    75 feet shouldn't be a problem with quality RG 6 and good connectors.

    -Robert
     

Share This Page