*** Official *** Outlaw 950 questions thread

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by AVspec, May 9, 2002.

  1. AVspec

    AVspec Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 1998
    Messages:
    517
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    South Eastern PA
    Real Name:
    Mark
    Robert, with all the questions being asked in the review thread I thought it would be better to start a new thread that you could move all of those question and comments over to. That way the review thread will just have reviews of the 950. Sound like a plan?
    Administrator's Comment: I've cleaned the questions out of the review thread located here and have asked that all questions regarding the 950 experience be brought up in this thread instead. Thanks for the suggestion.
    RAF
     
  2. Camp

    Camp Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 1999
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    Good idea.

    I'll start.

    I've heard the 950 can't remember settings for specific inputs. That it has global memory only. Is this true?

    Can you have the auto-detect feature set "on" for one input and "off" for another? Can you have speaker settings for each input or is this the global aspect I've heard about?

    One follow-up question: are there direct buttons to access the various surround formats or do you have to scroll through them?

    I lied...here's a second follow-up question: Do any of you 950 owners have experience with Logic 7? How does the Cirrus Extra surround processing compare? Can it really be compared at all? After getting used to Logic 7 I'd like a viable alternative.

    Thanks!
     
  3. Dzung Pham

    Dzung Pham Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2001
    Messages:
    272
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  4. Bob-N

    Bob-N Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    915
    Likes Received:
    0
    Camp,

    Yes, global memory only (I think I answered this question posed by you in another thread also).

    I believe that the auto detect is global also. So far I have connections to the TV (analog), VCR (analog) and DVD/CD player (optical) and it "detects" everytime I change inputs. Someone else can confirm if I'm off.

    The remote as all of the formats at the bottom of the remote. I like this feature as I can punch in directly from the remote to compare formats very quickly.

    Sorry, I don't have any experience with Logic 7.

    Bob
     
  5. Michael Yung

    Michael Yung Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2001
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  6. RAF

    RAF Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1997
    Messages:
    7,062
    Likes Received:
    0
    Steve Simon had an MC-1 and now has a 950. He should be able to answer your Logic-7 questions. Also, Gene Lockaby, one of the beta testers, owns an MC-12 and he made some comments regarding Logic 7 vs. the 950 in the old thread on this.

    Maybe they'll chime in with there comments or direct you to their exact remarks.
     
  7. Yohan Pamudji

    Yohan Pamudji Second Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2001
    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    0
    A couple questions (maybe more later):

    1. Does it save different channel level settings for each input? For instance, if I want to run my sub a couple dBs hot for DVD but not for CD will it be able to do so?

    2. How are the discrete codes? I have a Marantz RC5000 remote (Pronto, basically) and want to be able to discrete code as much as possible: discrete on and off, discrete sound modes (stereo, DPL, etc.), and so on.
     
  8. Michael Yung

    Michael Yung Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2001
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yohan,

    1. No different level settings for different devices.

    2. 950 has discrete code to turn off. It turns on by you selecting one of the inputs; DVD, Aux1, VCR, etc. I also have a Pronto and it works perfectly. No discrete sound modes as far as I know.

    MY
     
  9. Yohan Pamudji

    Yohan Pamudji Second Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2001
    Messages:
    492
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  10. Michael Yung

    Michael Yung Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 15, 2001
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yohan,

    No different level settings for sound modes either.

    MY
     
  11. Camp

    Camp Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 1999
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
     
  12. Gene Lockaby

    Gene Lockaby Extra

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 1999
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Camp - My comments on comparing Logic7 of MC-12 to 950 and CES can be found here.
    Regards - Gene
     
  13. Jim Prillaman

    Jim Prillaman Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2002
    Messages:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Camp

    The auto-detect / lock setting is stored discretely for each input, I believe. I have my CD player's input locked, and the DVD input seems to still stay on auto-detect.
     
  14. Bob_L

    Bob_L Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    May 19, 2001
    Messages:
    894
    Likes Received:
    1
    Real Name:
    Bob Lindstrom
     
  15. Sean D

    Sean D Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2001
    Messages:
    182
    Likes Received:
    0
    Is anyone getting a chirping/distorted/no bass sound/ sounds only coming from mainly the center channel with DPL II cinema and music? I am finding this with my Bell ExpressVu 5100 reciever in both digital and analog mode as well as with regular cable tv in analog.It's not so chirpy with cable tv but there is hardly any sounds at all coming from the mains. I've also tried switching digital inputs on the 950.
     
  16. Camp

    Camp Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 1999
    Messages:
    2,303
    Likes Received:
    0
    OK...that's two people who say the auto-detect/lock setting is global and two who say it's by input. Anyone care to break the tie? [​IMG]
    Bob, I thank you for tossing aside your reservations about posting in a 950 thread. [​IMG]
     
  17. Bob-N

    Bob-N Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2001
    Messages:
    915
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ok, just checked while watching Sharks/Avs game. Go Sharks, 0-0 after 1st period.

    I think I know why I think I was confused. If you use the digital inputs and if the auto detect is on (by default), the effect appears to be global for all digital inputs. It would appear that if you change the sound format and the auto detect is off, it keeps the sound format in memory based on individual input. So I change my vote to per input.

    For the analog inputs, there is no auto detect so it stays in the last mode it was placed in per input. So if video 1 is set for stereo and video 2 was last set for 5 stereo, they stay in those sound modes.

    Bob
     
  18. Matthew Anderson

    Matthew Anderson Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2000
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Garland,Tx.
    Real Name:
    Matthew Anderson
    Ricky T,

    My old receiver is a Yamaha RX-V795. I hope this helps.

    Matt
     
  19. Matthew Anderson

    Matthew Anderson Second Unit

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2000
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Garland,Tx.
    Real Name:
    Matthew Anderson
    Serge,

    Thanks for posting your 950 review. I enjoyed reading your impressions for this component and I see that you have an ATI 1502 also. How do you like it? Also, what do your think of the 6.1 performance of the 950, particularly with Dolby EX? Thanks again.

    Matt
     
  20. Will

    Will Guest

    I am a new 950 user. I find the FM satisfactory. (But not great.) But I'm having a real problem with AM. Maybe I'm doing something wrong. All stations on the AM band have this terrible static. It's practically unlistenable. I know AM isn't high fidelity. But I like to listen to AM occassionally. My previous receiver, a cheap Sony receiver, got AM without the static. I used the little AM antenna that is supplied with the 950. Could that be the problem? Somehow I doubt it. With the 950, when I connect either the AM antenna from my previous receiver, or the AM antenna supplied with the 950, AM stations have terrible static on the 950.

    Am I the only one who has this problem with AM on the 950? Am I doing something wrong?
     

Share This Page