What's new

*noob alert* .. Looking for Receiver advice (1 Viewer)

Evan M

Second Unit
In a perfect world, I'd win the lottery and be able to buy the biggest, baddest equipment available... unfortunately that's not the case.

I have about $500 dollars to spend and need to get a new Receiver and a DVD Player w/ Progressive Scan (On my current one, the sound and picture dont' sync up and I have no idea how to fix it.. and it's not Progressive Scan), and preferably a good set of speakers. (Only really "need" surrounds and Center.. have a pair of decent front speakers, that are about 9 years old)

So, on to the nitty gritty.. any good suggestions on what I should look at?

I started looking at receivers and am thinking I narrowed down to :
Pioneer VSX-D812, Onkyo TX-SR501, or Sony STR-DE895

The impression I get is to avoid Sony, but I'm open to suggestions, as I basically know nothing about home audio.. this is my first attempt at buying my own equipment. The previous receiver/speakers were a gift when I was 14. :D

Thanks for any help!

Wayde_R

Stunt Coordinator
Sorry, I'm not familiar with the models that you bring up however. $500 for two components is pretty minimal but not impossible to work with. I have a friend that owned a Sony receiver in the 300$ range and well, I think I liked the Pioneer in its price range better (I never told my friend that of course). Another friend of mine picked up a Pioneer reciever that was a floor model for a mere $200, I think it was Best Buy. He's very happy with it and I think it's a little better than the Sony.

The most important consideration in the reciever is pre-outs. Pre-outs will allow you to add external amplifiers if you ever decide to get better speakers later, you might find the old recievers output doesn't light them up. A nice power amp added to the mix would do the trick.